Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2019 Fiction: Science Fiction & Fantasy

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AN AO AQ AR AS AT AW AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BR BV BY CA CC CF CG CH CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CX CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GR GS GT GU GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IR IS IT JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MP MQ MR MT MV MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PH PL PM PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SE SI SJ SK SM SN SR ST SV SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TM TN TR TW TZ UA UM US UY UZ VA VE VI VN WF YT Not for sale in: AG AU AX BB BD BM BN BQ BS BT BW BZ CD CM CW CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GQ GY IE IM IN IO IQ JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LK LS MM MS MU MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SD SG SH SL SO SS SX SZ TC TL TO TT TV UG VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Hachette Book Group Availability: In stock On Sale Date: Apr 02, 2019 Carton Quantity: 20 $19.99 CAD
    $18.99 USD
  • Catalogues

The Devouring Gray 1
The Devouring Gray
9781368024969 Hardcover English Young Adult : Grade (US) from 7 - 12, Reading age from 12 - 18 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Contemporary Apr 02, 2019
$19.99 CAD
Active 6 x 8.6 x 1.25 in 368 pages Disney-Hyperion
"Fans of The Raven Boys and Stranger Things rejoice: This is your new obsession."-Claire Legrand, New York Times best-selling author of Furyborn

After the death of her sister, seventeen-year-old Violet Saunders finds herself dragged to Four Paths, New York. Violet may be a newcomer, but she soon learns her mother isn't: They belong to one of the revered founding families of the town, where stone bells hang above every doorway and danger lurks in the depths of the woods.
Justin Hawthorne's bloodline has protected Four Paths for generations from the Gray-a lifeless dimension that imprisons a brutal monster. After Justin fails to inherit his family's powers, his mother is determined to keep this humiliation a secret. But Justin can't let go of the future he was promised and the town he swore to protect.
Ever since Harper Carlisle lost her hand to an accident that left her stranded in the Gray for days, she has vowed revenge on the person who abandoned her: Justin Hawthorne. There are ripples of dissent in Four Paths, and Harper seizes an opportunity to take down the Hawthornes and change her destiny-to what extent, even she doesn't yet know.
The Gray is growing stronger every day, and its victims are piling up. When Violet accidentally unleashes the monster, all three must band together with the other Founders to unearth the dark truths behind their families' abilities... before the Gray devours them all.

Born in New York City but raised in Japan and Hong Kong, Christine Lynn Herman subscribes to the firm philosophy that home is where her books are. She returned to the United States to study at the University of Rochester, where she received the Dean's Prize in fiction and an Honors English degree. Currently, Christine and her books reside in a Brooklyn apartment, along with her partner, many plants, and their extremely spoiled cat. She can be found talking about her writing @christineexists or at christinelynnherman.com.

"The Devouring Gray is an irresistible blend of unforgettable characters and spine-tingling horror. Full of witchy atmosphere; lush, detailed writing; and a trope-breaking, endearing group cast, this book will ensnare you and leave you deliciously haunted. A stunning debut."—Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades and Daughter of the Burning City

"A grimly exhilarating tale of monsters in the woods and monstrous family legacies-and teens brave enough to fight them both. This New England Gothic will devour you."—Rosamund Hodge, author of Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound

"Herman crafts an intriguing thriller that tantalizingly parses out its reveals. Fans of Stiefvater's The Raven Boys (BCCB 9/12) will enjoy many similar elements here, from tarot-inspired fortune-telling to powerful friendships between the main characters; the personalities are realistic and nuanced, and two bisexual leads propel a deliciously messy tangle of love interests. The story especially thrives where it depicts the grief process and in its moral ambiguity. This page-turner is topped off with a satisfying conclusion that has enough intriguing open ends to make readers impatient for its sequel."—BCCB

"This moody, atmospheric debut has plenty of appeal for teen horror readers. Fans of Claire Legrand's Sawkill Girls (2018) and the CW's Riverdale will find much to appreciate."—Booklist

"By the end of page one, I was hooked. By the end of chapter one, I was entranced. The pages of this book breathe and shiver and thrum, just like the trees of Herman's deliciously eerie woods. These characters are unforgettable; the imagery is sublime. Fans of The Raven Boys and Stranger Things rejoice: This is your new obsession."—Claire Legrand, New York Times best-selling author of Furyborn

"The only thing better than a chosen one is four chosen ones, and the only thing better than four chosen ones is four chosen ones who don't like each other very much. The Devouring Gray takes privilege and legacy by the throat and never lets go."—E. K. Johnston, #1 New York Times best-selling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and A Thousand Nights

"[A] riveting debut... Complex characters and creepy concepts will leave readers chomping for the next volume."—Kirkus Reviews

of 79

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.