Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2019 Fiction: Young Adult

more
LIFEL1K3 1
LIFEL1K3 (Lifelike)
By (author): Jay Kristoff
9781524713959 Paperback, Trade English Young Adult : Age (years) from 12, Grade (US) from 7 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Science Fiction / General Apr 30, 2019
$14.99 CAD
Active 5.4 x 8.25 x 0.86 in 416 pages Random House Children's Books Ember
From the coauthor of the New York Times bestselling Illuminae Files comes the first book in a new series that’s part Romeo and Juliet, part Terminator, and all adrenaline.

On an island junkyard beneath a sky that glows with radiation, a deadly secret lies buried in the scrap. Seventeen-year-old Eve isn’t looking for trouble—she’s too busy looking over her shoulder. The robot gladiator she spent months building has been reduced to a smoking wreck, she’s on the local gangster’s wanted list, and the only thing keeping her grandpa alive is the money she just lost to the bookies. Worst of all, she’s discovered she can somehow destroy machines with the power of her mind, and a bunch of puritanical fanatics are building a coffin her size because of it. If she’s ever had a worse day, Eve can’t remember it. The problem is, Eve has had a worse day—one that lingers in her nightmares and the cybernetic implant where her memories used to be. Her discovery of a handsome android named Ezekiel—called a “Lifelike” because they resemble humans—will bring her world crashing down and make her question whether her entire life is a lie. With her best friend Lemon Fresh and her robotic sidekick Cricket in tow, Eve will trek across deserts of glass, battle unkillable bots, and infiltrate towering megacities to save the ones she loves…and learn the truth about the bloody secrets of her past.

Series Overview: This is Romeo and Juliet meets Mad Max! In the wake of an uprising in a post-apocalyptic USA, the robotic populace have been reduced to slaves, and androids (robots who look like humans) have been outlawed. LIFEL1K3 is about a girl named Eve and her best friend Lemon, who find a ruined android in a scrap heap - an almost-boy named Ezekiel, who knows the truth behind the robotic revolt. Each book features (in no particular order): Giant Mechanical War Machines. Androids. Mutant Powers. Doomed Romance. Warring Corporations. Cybernetic Bounty Hunters. Sassy Robot Sidekicks. Rebellions. Chases. Escapes. Betrayals. Lies Upon Lies. ’Splosions.

DEV1AT3 (book 2) releases in hardcover Summer 2019

Untitled Book 3 releases Summer 2020

Romeo and Juliet meets Mad Max (with a bit of Blade Runner on the side): these are hooks that readers know and gravitate to!

Bestselling author: The Illuminae Files established Jay as a leading man of sci-fi. He is a social media whiz, a bookseller and critical darling, and an all-around nice guy who is also an innovative partner to our promotional efforts.

Sci-fi is mainstream: Veronica Roth, Marie Lu, and Brandon Sanderson all continue to publish new sci-fi series and reader anticipation is high.

For readers who loved ILLUMINAE, WARCROSS, Marissa Meyer’s RENEGADES, as well as fans of Ernest Cline’s READY PLAYER ONE (book or movie), and Daniel Wilson’s ROBOPACOLYPSE.

A villain origin story: Marvel and DC superheros continue to set box office records. LIFEL1K3 is a behind the scenes account of how one such character goes from everyday hero to villain…

The sequel, DEV1AT3, is out this season in hardcover.

Jay Kristoff is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of THE LOTUS WAR, THE ILLUMINAE FILES, and THE NEVERNIGHT CHRONICLE. He is the winner of two Aurealis Awards and an ABIA, was a nominee for the David Gemmell Morningstar and Legend awards, has been named multiple times in the Kirkus and Amazon Best Teen Books lists, and is published in over twenty-five countries, most of which he has never visited. He is as surprised about all of this as you are. He is 6’7" and has approximately 13,030 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife and the world’s laziest Jack Russell. He does not believe in happy endings. Follow Jay: jaykristoff.com or @misterkristoff.

Author Residence: Australia

Author Website: jaykristoff.com

Author Social Media: @misterkristoff

“Kristoff’s vivid world of grit, metal, and technology evokes all the senses, and his character’ every emotion. This is a breathless, action-packed exploration of what humanity really means.” — Marie Lu, #1 NYT Bestselling Author of The Young Elites
 
“I’d like to live in the vivid and raw world of LIFEL1K3, if only I wasn’t certain it would kill me.“ —Beth Revis, bestselling author of Star Wars: Rebel Rising and the Across the Universe trilogy
 
“Put this grimy, beautiful, devastating, hilarious, screaming, writhing, all-out post-apocalyptic girl-buddy-road-warrior-lost princess-techno-thriller in your face and read it right now. It is every kind of badass.” —Laini Taylor, bestselling author of Strange the Dreamer and the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy
 
Make LIFEL1K3 your next favorite book. Trust me.“ —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

”[A] thoughtful and thought-provoking work of science fiction."—VOYA, starred review


“A fast-paced adventure full of energy and verve that will leave readers breathless.” —School Library Journal
 
“A solid, fast-paced adventure.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“[An] action-packed thriller. …It’s the print love child of movies Mad Max and Tank Girl.” —Booklist
 
Inventive and unexpected.”—Kirkus Reviews

of 75

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.