Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan Bloomsbury Childrens Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo
By (author): Laura James Illustrated by: Emily Fox
9781547602179 Hardcover, Dust jacket English Juvenile: Age (years) from 6 - 9 JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories Aug 06, 2019 Print Run: 5000
$22.99 CAD
Active 5.64 x 7.37 x 0.7 in 144 pages 2-color illustrations throughout Bloomsbury Bloomsbury Children's Books

This hilarious, brightly illustrated chapter book starring Fabio the flamingo detective and his sidekick Gilbert the giraffe is perfect for fans of CatStronauts and The Bad Guys.

In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world’s greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He’s not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he’s very, very clever.

When Fabio and his giraffe associate Gilbert drop in to the Hotel Royale for a relaxing glass of lemonade (pink, naturally), Fabio is persuaded to judge the hotel’s talent contest. But when the most promising contestant--Julia the jazz-singing hippopotamus--goes missing, Fabio must put his thinking cap back on and solve the mystery!

Don't miss these other books from Laura James!

The Pug series
Captain Pug
Cowboy Pug
Safari Pug

Laura Jamesis the author of the Pug series, includingCaptain Pug,Cowboy Pug, and Safari Pug.Her love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to study writing for young people at Bath Spa University in England. She continues to live near Bath with her two dachshunds, Brian and Florence.

laurajamesauthor.com

Emily Fox is a Bristol-based illustrator who graduated from Falmouth University. She loves to experiment with color, funny stories and animals, which means thatFabiois the perfect project for her.
www.emilyafox.co.uk

"[Fabio’s] twists and turns are fun to follow and, combined with its beautiful illustrations, make this story both thrilling and playful." -Foreword Reviews, starred review

"Shifty characters, clues hiding in plain sight and a big reveal make for a satisfying introduction to the detective genre in this neon-bright caper for children." -Wall Street Journal

"The engaging plot and bright neon pink and green pages will draw readers into the story. . . A wild and fun mystery for young readers." -School Library Journal

"Giggleworthy . . . the cheeky tone, and, of course, the whodunit appeal will motivate some readers to test their literacy chops and help our pink protagonist solve the mystery." -BCCB

"A classic detective story with some quirky, fun animal flair . . . . The bright neon green and pink illustrations compliment the fun plot." -School Library Connection

"Young sleuths will enjoy the easy mystery and the cheeky illustrations." -Kirkus Reviews

"With plenty of fun, outlandish scenarios, and a few new friends, this is sure to please." -Booklist on COWBOY PUG

"Pug is a fun, engaging character, while Lady Miranda is caring and will remind young readers of Fancy Nancy and Eloise. . . . Fans of dogs and animal adventures will have a hard time putting this one down." - Starred review,School Library Journal on CAPTAIN PUG

"This charming chapter book will delight young readers ready to tackle longer stories. The breezy tone and adventurous plot will keep the pages turning, while comical illustrations--accented with blue and red--add to the fun." -Booklist on CAPTAIN PUG

of 36

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.