Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

May 2019 Juvenile Fiction

more
THE OTHER SIDE
Carnival Magic
By (author): Amy Ephron
9781524740238 Paperback, Digest English Juvenile: Age (years) from 8 - 12, Grade (US) from 3 - 7 JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic May 07, 2019
$11.99 CAD
Active 5 x 7.75 x 0.72 in 288 pages Philomel Puffin Books
This companion to The Castle in the Mist takes readers on another magical adventure that will appeal to fans of Edward Eager and E. L. Konigsburg.

Tess and Max are back in England for another summer with their Aunt Evie—this time by the seashore in South Devon. And they’re incredibly excited about the travelling carnival that’s come to town. There are rides, games, acrobats, The House of Mirrors—and even a psychic with a beautiful wagon all her own. In a visit to the psychic’s wagon, while Tess is being hypnotized, the wagon seems to move. Before Tess can shake herself out of the hypnosis, before Max can do anything, they’re travelling—along with the rest of the carnival—too quickly for the two of them to jump out. But where are they going and what awaits them? Will they be caught in a world different from their own? And do the Baranova twins, acrobats who miss their sister almost as much as Tess and Max miss their family, hold the keys to the mystery?

Internationally bestselling author Amy Ephron returns with a companion novel to The Castle in the Mist and creates a magical tale filled with adventure, mystery, fantasy, family, and fun.

Series Overview: Spring 2017: The Castle in the Mist HC

Spring 2018: Carnival Magic HC, The Castle in the Mist PB

Fall 2019: The Other Side of the Wall HC

PERFECT FOR FANS OF HALF MAGIC AND THE SECRET GARDEN!

AN EAGERLY ANTICIPATED COMPANION! Readers and gatekeepers alike absolutely loved The Castle in the Mist, and they will gobble up this new fantasy-adventure novel.

A CLASSIC STORY WITH A MODERN TWIST! Just like The Castle in the Mist, Carnival Magic feels at once contemporary and classic, evoking books like Half Magic; The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe; and The Secret Garden.

CARNIVALS & CIRCUSES! What’s more magical and mysterious? As we’ve seen with Circus Mirandus, The Night Circus, and Caraval, readers of all ages love carnival and circus stories.

A TIRELESS, WELL-CONNECTED BEST-SELLING AUTHOR! Amy is an internationally best-selling author who is happy to do whatever she can to promote her book and share it with her network.

MORE TO COME! Philomel has a companion book, The Other Side of the Wall, scheduled to publish in Fall 2019.

Amy Ephron (www.amyephron.com) is the author of The Castle in the Mist, her first book for young readers, which has been nominated for a SCIBA Award. Amy has also written several adult books, including A Cup of Tea, which was an international bestseller. Her novel One Sunday Morning received the Booklist Best Fiction of the Year and Best Historical Fiction of the Year awards and was a Barnes and Noble Book Club selection. She is a contributor and contributing editor at Vogue and Vogue.com, and her work has appeared in numerous other publications. She was also the executive producer of Warner Brothers’ A Little Princess. Amy lives in Los Angeles with her husband; between them they have five children. You can follow her on Twitter and Instagram at @amyephron.

Author Residence: Los Angeles, CA

Praise for Carnival Magic:

An LA Times bestseller!

“Tess is a thoroughly modern heroine: She’s athletic, impulsive, and fearless…The siblings are authentic children [and] the fantastic elements are the stuff of daydreams. Perfect for classroom read-alouds.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Ephron excels in creating an enchanted yet believable world in which both good and evil exist…. This novel, which works as a standalone, will captivate readers who enjoy their whimsy with a dash of risk.”—School Library Journal

“Short chapters filled with mystery and action will have readers eagerly continuing to discover the secrets that await them…. Fans of the first book will be eager for this fun middle-grade fantasy with a classic sensibility.”—Booklist

“Full of wonder and real-life enchantment, Amy Ephron’s Carnival Magic is a charming adventure that will make a believer out of anyone!”—Rachel Vail, author of the Friendship Ring series

of 396

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.