Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Knopf/Doubleday (Green) Announced Drop-Ins February 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The War In The Dark
By (author): Nick Setchfield
9781789092127 Paperback, Mass market English General Trade FICTION / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy Jul 30, 2019
$10.99 CAD
Active 4.36 x 7 x 0.97 in 400 pages Titan Books
A genre-defying page turner that fuses thriller and speculative fiction with dark fantasy in a hidden world in the heart of Cold War Europe.

Europe. 1963. And the true Cold War is fought on the borders of this world, at the edges of the light.

When the assassination of a traitor trading with the enemy goes terribly wrong, British Intelligence agent Christopher Winter must flee London. In a tense alliance with a lethal, mysterious woman named Karina Lazarova, he’s caught in a quest for hidden knowledge from centuries before, an occult secret written in a language of fire. A secret that will give supremacy to the nation that possesses it.

Racing against the Russians, the chase takes them from the demon-haunted Hungarian border to treasure-laden tunnels beneath Berlin, from an impossible house in Vienna to a bomb-blasted ruin in Bavaria where something unholy waits, born of the power of white fire and black glass…

It’s a world of treachery, blood and magic. A world at war in the dark.

AUTHOR’S POSITION AS SFX FEATURES EDITOR HAS GIVEN HIM EXCELLENT PROMOTIONAL CONTACTS ALONG WITH CONFIRMED SUPPORT FROM SFX

FOR FANS OF DARK FANTASY. TAPS INTO SUCCESS OF BEN AARONOVITCH, PAUL CORNELL, JIM BUTCHER, SUSANNA CLARKE

FAST-PACED, COMPELLING, HYPER-VISUAL READ.

Nick Setchfield is a writer and features editor for SFX, Britain’s best-selling magazine of genre entertainment in film, TV and books. A regular contributing writer to Total Film, he’s also been a movie reviewer for the BBC and a scriptwriter for ITV’s Spitting Image. The War in the Dark is his first novel. He lives in Bath.

Author Residence: Bath, UK

Author Hometown: Bath, UK

Publicity: Interviews and features in fantasy and entertainment magazines

Reviews in national newspapers

Blog tour across fantasy and books blogs

Promotion on titanbooks.com

“James Bond meets Indiana Jones…a rip-roaring adventure. This is the book you’ll be reading on the beach even when it rains or the sun goes down” Mark Millar

“A rattling good read…it’s thrilling” Russell T Davies

“This book had a tremendous sense of paranoia and uncertainty, and a plot that kept me riveted to find out how it would resolve” Genevieve Cogman

“Nick Setchfield’s occult spy thriller is a smooth blend of James Bond and M.R. James, played with tons of wit and style. This is something new that entertains like something old. Triumphantly suave” Paul Cornell

of 47

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.