Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Knopf/Doubleday (Green) Announced Drop-Ins February 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781400026906 Paperback / softback, Mass market, , $11.99 CAD 9780385690904 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $24.95 CAD 9780385690911 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9780525530596 CD-Audio, $47 CAD 9780525530602 Downloadable audio file 9780525587828 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $37 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Jul 02, 2019 Carton Quantity:24
  • Catalogues

Need to Know
By (author): Karen Cleveland
9780385690928 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense Jul 02, 2019
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.21 x 7.98 x 0.72 in | 0.54 lb 336 pages Doubleday Canada Anchor Canada
In this New York Times bestselling psychological thriller, a CIA analyst uncovers a dangerous secret that shatters her trust in everyone around her--and puts her loyalty to her family to the ultimate test. Perfect for readers of The Woman in the Window and The Couple Next Door.

What do you do when everything you trust might be a lie?

Vivian Miller is a dedicated CIA counterintelligence analyst assigned to uncover the leaders of Russian sleeper cells in the United States. Pushing herself for a much-needed promotion, she stumbles on a secret online dossier of deep-cover agents living within America's borders. A few clicks later, everything that matters to her--her job, her husband, even her four children--are threatened.

Vivian has vowed to defend her country against all enemies, foreign and domestic. But now she's facing an impossible choice: protect her family or be taken down for treason. Who can she trust?

KAREN CLEVELAND is the New York Times bestselling author of Need to Know and a former CIA analyst. She has master's degrees from Trinity College Dublin (international peace studies) and Harvard University (public policy). Cleveland lives in northern Virginia with her husband and two young sons.

A New York Times Bestseller

"Perhaps there will be two or three readers out there who manage to finish the first chapter of this terrific debut and put it down for more than an hour. But they'll be back. And they'll devour Need to Know like the rest of us, skipping lunch, losing sleep, turning pages until the end, where we're all left waiting for more." —John Grisham, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Prediction: If you read chapter one, you'll read chapter two. If you read chapter two, you'll miss dinner, stay up far too late and feel tired at work tomorrow. This is that kind of book. Superb." —Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"I raced through this gripping tale of domesticity and deceit. Cleveland deliciously ratchets up the tension at every turn. . . . You won't be able to put it down until the final, stunning page!" —Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door

"Shaping up to be one of the year's biggest new thrillers." —Entertainment Weekly

"Pulse-pounding." —O: The Oprah Magazine

"This is a compelling debut about a timely issue. . . . Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena's thrillers and Chris Pavone's The Expats (2012), and for just about everyone who loves the thrill of finding themselves in a book that can't be put down." —Booklist, starred review

"[A] pulse-hammering first novel. . . . This suspenseful espionage tale is a rousing Act 2 to the excitement of TVs The Americans and the novels of Chris Pavone." Library Journal, starred review

"The strength in Need to Know is how seamlessly Cleveland pairs the espionage aspect—complete with clandestine meetings on the proverbial park bench—with domestic life." Associated Press

"Karen Cleveland's Need to Know is a swift and sure-footed debut." —The Seattle Times

"The Russia page-turner that should be on everyone's list." New York Post

"A nonstop thriller tapping into a hot mix of contemporary digital counterintelligence, old-school spying and ageless family drama." —Shelf Awareness

"Need To Know is an impressive debut from an author who worked for the CIA and uses her personal experiences to pose an interesting moral dilemma. . . . It is an engaging, thoughtful domestic suspense thriller that builds to a satisfying finale with a twist." —Daily Express (UK)

"Thrillers don't get much more twisty and turny than this one. . . . If you don't mind staying up reading till 3 a.m., [Need to Know] is the one for you." —BBC

"An early contender for next year's Gone Girl." —GQ (UK)

"Cleveland deftly brings together old-school espionage and contemporary cyberwar in a novel that may well be the best fusion of the two to date." —The Sunday Times (UK)

"So timely . . . Think of the perfect mix of Homeland and The Americans. . . . Need to Know needs to be read by all who relish spy novels. As entertaining as it is informative and as irresistible as it is impossible to put down." —Providence Journal

"I am consumed with awe that this is a debut novel. Breathtaking, heart-pounding, it manages to be at once intimate and sweeping, characterful and plot-driven. Need to Know is a really astonishing achievement for any writer, let alone a first-time novelist. I love it!" —Louise Penny, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Chief Inspector Gamache Series

"Karen Cleveland is the real deal—an exciting new voice in thrillers. Scarpetta would call her a friend." —Patricia Cornwell, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Heart-poundingly suspenseful and heart-wrenchingly insightful, Need to Know hums with authentic detail, crisp storytelling and characters that will long stay in your thoughts. A gripping thriller with real psychological depth." —JP Delaney, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before

"Need to Know carves out a uniquely compelling space among thrillers: high-stakes international intrigue combined with high-drama domestic suspense. These richly overlapping layers of tensions create a fast-paced, relentlessly gripping read." —Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Expats

"Hold on tight! What a story, brilliantly told. An espionage thriller from deep within the heart of the CIA, told from a woman's point of view. More modern than tomorrow. Absolutely gripping." —Terry Hayes, author of I Am Pilgrim

"First word to last, I needed to know! [A] timely dance of intrigue and deception. There are two female heroes here . . . the author, an actual CIA analyst, and the terrific protagonist she creates. One of my favorite espionage thrillers in a long time." —Julia Heaberlin, internationally bestselling author of Black-Eyed Susans

of 47

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.