Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Knopf/Doubleday (Green) Announced Drop-Ins February 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Need to Know
By (author): Karen Cleveland
9780385690928 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense Jul 02, 2019
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.21 x 7.98 x 0.72 in 336 pages Doubleday Canada Anchor Canada
In this New York Times bestselling psychological thriller, a CIA analyst uncovers a dangerous secret that shatters her trust in everyone around her—and puts her loyalty to her family to the ultimate test. Perfect for readers of The Woman in the Window and The Couple Next Door.

What do you do when everything you trust might be a lie?

Vivian Miller is a dedicated CIA counterintelligence analyst assigned to uncover the leaders of Russian sleeper cells in the United States. Pushing herself for a much-needed promotion, she stumbles on a secret online dossier of deep-cover agents living within America’s borders. A few clicks later, everything that matters to her—her job, her husband, even her four children—are threatened.

Vivian has vowed to defend her country against all enemies, foreign and domestic. But now she’s facing an impossible choice: protect her family or be taken down for treason. Who can she trust?

Story Locale: Washington D.C., Northern VA

Publication History: Doubleday Canada, TR (01/2018)

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, debuting at #10 on the NYT hardcover list and #15 on the combined list.

RIPPED-FROM-THE-HEADLINES DEBUT NOVEL BY A SEASONED CIA ANALYST: Karen Cleveland is a young mother with a background in the CIA (writing briefs for the U.S. President and graduating from its rigorous Advanced Analyst Program) and the FBI (working closely with a Joint Terrorism Task Force).

FILM RIGHTS: Universal bought the film rights in a major deal, with CHARLIZE THERON STARRING AND PRODUCING.

BOOK CLUB GUIDE INSIDE: This novel lays out a perfect “What would you do?” scenario, and book clubs will be compelled to debate the consequential moral decisions Vivian makes.

INTERNATIONAL RIGHTS sold in TWENTY-FIVE countries, including Germany, Italy, Spain, Sweden, and Brazil.

MORE TO COME: This paperback will feature an excerpt of Karen Cleveland’s next novel, Keep You Close, to be published in May 2019.

KAREN CLEVELAND is the New York Times bestselling author of Need to Know and a former CIA analyst. She has master’s degrees from Trinity College Dublin (international peace studies) and Harvard University (public policy). Cleveland lives in northern Virginia with her husband and two young sons.

Author Residence: Northern Virginia

Author Website: karen-cleveland.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: @karecleve

Praise for Need to Know:

“Pulse-pounding.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

“Shaping up to be one of the year’s biggest new thrillers.” —Entertainment Weekly

Karen Cleveland deliciously ratchets up the tension at every turn. You won’t be able to put it down until the final, stunning page!“—Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door

”Perhaps there will be two or three readers out there who manage to finish the first chapter of this terrific debut and put it down for more than an hour. But they’ll be back. And they’ll devour it like the rest of us, skipping lunch, losing sleep, turning pages until the end, where we’re all left waiting for more.“—John Grisham

”Perfect for…just about everyone who loves the thrill of finding themselves in a book that can’t be put down.“ —Booklist (starred review)

”[A] pulse-hammering first novel.“ —Library Journal (starred review)

”Prediction: if you read chapter one, you’ll read chapter two. If you read chapter two, you’ll miss dinner, stay up far too late, and feel tired at work tomorrow. This is that kind of book. Superb."—Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author

of 47

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.