Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Highlights Press Fall 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Moonshine
By (author): Justin Benton
9781629798110 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 8 - 12, Grade (US) from 3 - 7 JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents Oct 15, 2019
$23.99 CAD
Active 5.81 x 8.56 x 0.79 in 192 pages Boyd Mills Press Calkins Creek
Set in the Great Depression, a boy begins to question his and his father’s illicit lifestyle brewing moonshine in the Tennessee wilderness and finds himself facing not only vengeful gangsters and a corrupt sheriff, but also the possibility of losing his Pa.

To keep food on the table during the Great Depression, thirteen-year-old Cub helps his widower father illegally distill and sell moonshine, despite Prohibition. However, their relaxed business is interrupted when a gangster named Salvatore arrives and offers a once-in-a-lifetime distribution deal to Cub’s father. Eager for a safer lifestyle, Cub decides to interfere with the gangster’s negotiations and end the deal. However, this broken arrangement backfires, forcing Cub to make some business decisions before things turn deadly. In this coming-of-age historical adventure by a debut author, Cub must race against time to not only save his father’s life, but also their future.

Story Locale: The story is set in the fictional Hidden Orchard, TN, and briefly in Knoxville, TN.

STRONG HISTORICAL CONTEXT offers a detailed look at life during the Great Depression and Prohibition though a high-stakes adventure centered on gangsters and moonshining .

AUTHENTIC VOICE by a first-time author allow readers to fully immerse themselves in the setting of Hidden Orchard, Tennessee.

RELATABLE CHARACTERS: First-person narrator Cub offers a tender and humorous approach to the challenges he faces at home and school.

ACTION AND ADVENTURE WITH EMOTIONAL DEPTH AND HEART: This novel blends themes of family and responsibility based on Cub’s relationship with his loving father.

APPEAL FOR BOYS AND RELUCTANT READERS: Perfect for fans of Alabama Moon, this novel will entice boys and reluctant readers with its fast-paced adventure.

Justin Benton grew up on a farm in Georgia, where he had the chance to spend time at various distilleries and stills, legal and otherwise. Moonshine is his debut novel. He lives in Cartagena, Colombia, where he is a teacher and print translator.

Author Residence: Cartagena, Colombia

Marketing: Advertising

Institutional advertising—review based

Wholesaler co-op advertising

Conferences

Feature title at key educational and library conferences

Promotion

Author Q&A/feature on boydsmillspress.com

Summer reading sell sheet



Publicity: Publicity/Social Media

Pitch to Tennessee regional media (setting of book)

Promote on BMP Twitter, Facebook, Instagram with visual assets and giveaways; targeted ads when applicable

★ “The smooth writing and…distinct narrative voice make this debut novel compelling from the start. Benton’s spot-on description of the sparse mountain setting with its social isolation and desperate poverty draw readers into the corrupt, complex times of the Great Depression. Though these elements are grim, they are balanced by strong themes of family and trust. When combined with the tense, realistic plot, a gripping piece of historical fiction emerges.”—Booklist, starred review

“Smooth, lyrical writing and crisp regional dialogue are the strengths of this debut. Benton knows his landscape…and should be a strong voice for the future…a fine adventure.”—Kirkus Reviews


“Benton has captured a unique moment in time in a unique setting… and woven an exquisite story. Cub and Pa will sneak into your heart and it will be hard to let them go. This is an outstanding choice for a curriculum tie-in on the Great Depression. Teachers and school librarians will want to add this to their collection.”—School Library Connection

 

of 39

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.