Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Steerforth Press, Fall 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
CALEB ZELIC 3
Darkness for Light
Edited by: Emma Viskic
9781782275435 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense Jun 09, 2020
$19.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.06 x 7.81 in 352 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Vertigo
Caleb Zelic can’t hear you. But he can see everything.
The latest pulsating thriller in the Caleb Zelic series


After a lifetime of bad decisions PI Caleb Zelic is finally making good ones. He’s in therapy, his business is recovering and his relationship with his estranged wife Kat is on the mend.

But soon Caleb is drawn into the tangled life of his troubled ex partner Frankie, which leads to a confrontation with the cops. And when Frankie’s niece is kidnapped, she and Caleb must work together to save the child’s life. But can Caleb trust her after her past betrayals?

Resurrection Bay won the 2016 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut, as well as an unprecedented three Davitt Awards in Australia. It was also shortlisted for both the CWA Gold and New Blood Daggers in the UK.

For fans of Jane Harper, Jo Nesbo and Peter Temple’s Jack Irish thrillers

The main character, private eye Caleb Zelic, is deaf - this is dealt with brilliantly by the author, who studied sign language in order to understand her character better

Emma Viskic is an award-winning Australian crime writer. Her critically acclaimed debut novel, Resurrection Bay, won the 2016 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut, and an unprecedented three Davitt Awards: Best Adult Novel, Best Debut, and Readers’ Choice. It was also iBooks Australia’s Crime Novel of the year, and was shortlisted for both the CWA Gold and New Blood Daggers in the UK. Emma studied Australian sign language (Auslan) in order to write the character of Caleb Zelic. She is currently writing the fourth Caleb Zelic thriller.

Author Residence: Australia

Author Hometown: Australia

Publicity: Widespread US publicity outreach including dedicated US mailing

DRC to be made available via NetGalley and Edelweiss

Additional social media publicity TBC

Praise for the Caleb Zelic thrillers:
’Stunning…original and splendidly plotted [with] a superb cast of main characters’ The Times, Crime Book of the Month
’An Australian thriller at its finest. A captivating read from first page to last’ Jane Harper, author of The Dry
’Ned Kelly Award-winner Viskic combines nuanced characters and thoughtful plotting in her impressive sequel to Resurrection BayPublishers Weekly (starred review)
’Trailing literary prizes in its wake…superbly characterized…well above most contemporary crime fiction’ Financial Times, Books of the Year
’More than lives up to its hype…Fierce, fast-moving, violent…it is as exciting a debut as fellow Australian Jane Harper’s The Dry, and I can think of no higher praise’ Daily Mail

of 22

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.