Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

June 2019: Juvenile Fiction

more
Riverbound
By (author): Melinda Beatty
9781524740030 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 8 - 12, Grade (US) from 3 - 7 JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic Jun 04, 2019
$22.99 CAD
Active 5.81 x 8.5 x 0.96 in 288 pages G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
The immersive finale of the Heartseeker duology—rich, commercial middle-grade fantasy about a girl who can see lies.

Only Fallow can see lies—a cunning so powerful that the King insists on keeping her in the palace, tasked with helping him flush out traitors.

When the King’s counselor, Lamia, tells Only of her plan to oust the King and put his daughter on the throne, Only is eager to help. Though Only’s cunning would be useful to any ruler, the Princess had promised to send Only home when she becomes Queen. But Only soon learns the truth is a complicated matter—especially when the fate of a country hangs in the balance. Now wound tight in a twisted plot, Only must set the record straight to stop the destruction of everything—and everyone—she holds dear.

The stunning finale of Melinda Beatty’s middle-grade duet is just as rich, imaginative, and full of adventure as the first installment.

HEARTSEEKER IS A 2018 SUMMER/FALL INDIES INTRODUCE PICK: Indie bookstores are already celebrating Melinda’s writing, and are very eager to support this series.

CLASSIC ADVENTURE: Historical fiction with a pinch of fantasy, this story is accessible and imaginative in a way that makes it just right for readers of Lisa Graff and A Snicker of Magic.

TRUE MIDDLE-GRADE: The main character’s journey is relatable and appropriate for younger middle graders, a voracious population that is constantly looking for new stories to devour.

COMPLETE DUOLOGY: This two-book series is short and sweet, and with the publication of Mayquin, the whole story will be available to readers to snap up and binge-read.

INDIE BOOKSELLER AUTHOR: A bookseller at The Curious Iguana, an independent bookstore in Frederick, MD, Melinda Beatty is actively engaged in the indie community.

Melinda Beatty is the author of the Heartseeker series, and was raised on a steady diet of science fiction, fantasy and unrealistic expectations. After living in boats, basements and attics, she and her husband now reside in Western Maryland with their two fierce mini-women and a Labrador who’s perpetually afraid of the trashcan. Her passion for books spills over into her second career as an indie bookseller, where she shares her enthusiasm for reading and is reminded once or twice a week that she needs to put on pants. Anyone wishing to engage in good natured banter or just to see some fun dog gifs can connect with her on Twitter @poorrobin.

Author Residence: Frederick, MD

Praise for Heartseeker:

A 2018 Summer/Fall Indies Introduce Book

“It’s kind of like the new generation’s Ella Enchanted.”—GeekMom

“A smart, captivating fantasy-adventure that will leave readers hungry for more.”—Booklist

“Beatty crafts a world rich with its own mythology and filled with strong heroes. This well-developed and original fantasy is a must-have for any middle grade collection.”—School Library Journal

“Beatty creates a cast of memorable characters and entrancingly vivid settings, immersing readers in a magical realm worth revisiting.”—Publishers Weekly

“As high fantasy has skewed older in recent years, it’s refreshing to see one that’s solidly middle-grade, helmed by a believable 11-year-old whose growth in savvy and understanding of her own privilege come naturally.”—Kirkus Reviews

of 231

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.