Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

June 2019: Juvenile Fiction

more
BLUE DOOR 3
Golden Pavements
Blue Door 3
By (author): Pamela Brown
9781782691891 Paperback, Trade English Juvenile: Age (years) from 7, Grade (US) from 2 JUVENILE FICTION / Performing Arts / Theater & Musicals Jun 25, 2019
$17.95 CAD
Active 5.08 x 7.78 x 0.71 in 288 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Children's Books
The third book in the Blue Door series, which starts with The Swish of the Curtain, the classic story which inspired actors from Maggie Smith to Eileen Atkins.

’How do you think you’ll like the Academy?’
’Like it!’ cried Lyn. ’I love it already. I’d not have missed it for the world. This has been the happiest day of my life.’

At the Actors’ Guild in London, the Blue Door Theatre Company are throwing themselves into anything that will bring the dreams of their own theatre to life - touring the country with the Guild’s summer productions, working behind the scenes at local theatrical companies, even taking walk-on parts between classes.

But just as plans for their own beloved Blue Door seem almost within their grasp, a disaster threatens to destroy one career for good…

The third in the series of beautiful reissues of these classic children’s books, for anyone who loves the theatre or who longs to act

The books were adapted for television and became a much-loved and well-known BBC series

For fans of Ballet Shoes, Anne of Green Gables and the Erich Kästner books

Pamela Brown (1924-1989) was a British writer, actor then television producer. She was just 14 when she started writing her first book, and the town of Fenchester in the books is inspired by her home town of Colchester. During the Second World War, she went to live in Wales, so The Swish of the Curtain was not published until 1941, when she was 16. She used the earnings from the books to train at RADA, and became an actor and a producer of children’s television programmes.

Author Residence: UK (deceased)

Author Hometown: Colchester, UK (deceased)

Publicity: Widespread US publicity outreach including dedicated US mailing

DRC to be made available via Edelweiss

Additional social media publicity TBC

“I wanted to act before I read [The Swish of the Curtain], and afterwards there was no stopping me”—Maggie Smith
“An enchanting book. A must for any child who wants to become an actor”—Eileen Atkins

of 231

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.