Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand Key Titles Shipping April 2019 - WEST

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Flatshare
A Novel
By (author): Beth O'Leary
9781250245175 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Women May 28, 2019
$23.99 CAD
Active 9.31 x 6.53 x 0.91 in 336 pages Includes color endpapers Flatiron Books

What if your roommate is your soul mate? A joyful, quirky romantic comedy, Beth O'Leary'sThe Flatshareis a feel-good novel about finding love in the most unexpected of ways.

Tiffy and Leon share an apartment. Tiffy and Leon have never met.

After a bad breakup, Tiffy Moore needs a place to live. Fast. And cheap. But the apartments in her budget have her wondering if astonishingly colored mold on the walls counts as art.

Desperation makes her open minded, so she answers an ad for a flatshare. Leon, a night shift worker, will take the apartment during the day, and Tiffy can have it nights and weekends. He’ll only ever be there when she’s at the office. In fact, they’ll never even have to meet.

Tiffy and Leon start writing each other notes – first about what day is garbage day, and politely establishing what leftovers are up for grabs, and the evergreen question of whether the toilet seat should stay up or down. Even though they are opposites, they soon become friends. And then maybe more.

But falling in love with your roommate is probably a terrible idea…especially if you've never met.

Beth O’Leary worked in children's publishing before becoming a full time author.The Flatshare is her debut novel. The idea forThe Flatshare came to Beth when her doctor boyfriend was doing long night shifts as part of his training and they could go weeks without seeing each other, but she could track his life by how many cups of coffee were left on the counter, by how much he’d eaten and whether the bookmark in his novel had changed locations. It made her wonder – what could you learn about someone if you lived together but never overlapped?

- starred review from Kirkus
- 100k print run
- Publishers Weekly review
- Booklist review
- Rep Pick

Rep Pick:
What if your soulmate was your roommate? And what if you’ve never actually met? An adorable meet cute of a novel about two strangers-turned-roommates who live and work on opposite schedules, communicate solely through post-it notes, and fall in love. —Laura MacDonald

“Add this to your summer reading list (and get out your checkbooks, Hollywood): Beth O'Leary’s debut novelThe Flatshare is a 21st century rom-com that will please hopeless romantics...Everyone needs to devour immediately."
—USA Today

“O’Leary’s tender, funny debut is a millennial romantic comedy with an old-fashioned twist: You’ll never look at a Post-it the same way again.”
—People

“A delight from start to finishA warm, enchanting love story perfect for fans of classic rom-coms.”
—Kirkus,starred review

The Flatshare is a huge, heartwarming triumph.”
Josie Silver, #1NYT bestselling author ofOne Day in December

“The new Jojo Moyes...This has all the ingredients ofMe Before You…Seriously funny.”
Cosmopolitan (UK)

"This charming debut features lovely characters being nice to one another. It’s easy to root for them to get together and solve the problems in each of their lives. Be prepared to hand-sell this one. It’s a sweet romance that will win over readers once they discover it on the shelves."
Library Journal,starred review

The Flatshare is the novel equivalent of a cup of hot tea.It’ll warm you up — and heal you if you’re hurting.”
—Refinery29

The Flatshare is undeniably a romance between Tiffy and Leon;it will give you butterflies, and make you laugh. But it’s also a deep-dive into the realities of relationships gone wrong, and what it truly takes to dig oneself out of the depths…An empowering look at resilience and healthy love.”
—Bustle

“O’Leary's debut is asweet, quirky novel about two complete opposites falling for one another under the cutest of circumstances...Perfect for fans of Helen Hoang'sThe Kiss Quotientand Sally Thorne'sThe Hating Game.
—Booklist

“I finishedThe Flatshare in one sitting – it is, as promised,incredibly uplifting and joyous.I spent the last few hours with a massive smile on my face. I have fallen head over heels in love with Tiffy and Leon, and indeed with this book.”
Louise O’Neill, #1 international bestselling author ofAsking For It

“Such fun...A thought-provoking work of fiction. But fun. Definitely fun.”
—Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“We were genuinely tickled by this book; we loved the concept, the writing, the characters. This is such a great book to take on vacation and read in one go with your toes dug into the warm sand.”
Christina Lauren,Publishers Weekly’s 11 Essential Summer Romance Novels

“This quirky romantic comedy has surprising depth…Colorful storylines, generous-hearted characters, and British banter make this a refreshing novel.”
—Christian Science Monitor

“Clever debut…O’Leary’s storypacks plenty of laughs and gasps; fans ofBridget Jones’s Diary will want to give this a look.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Its breezy prose and fun plot will have you hooked from the first page.”
RealSimple.com,5 Best Summer Beach Reads

"The Flatshare starts out as a sweet, funny, beautifully written romance with great dialogue and characters you'd love to share a flat with...and then, once you're hooked, it deepens and becomes so much more. It'sa cheering, lovely look at friendship and love and learning to trust after heartbreak. I never wanted it to end."Maddie Dawson, bestselling author ofMatchmaking for Beginners andThe Survivor's Guide to Family Happiness

The Flatshare has a lot of laughable moments, but there’s a great deal of depth, too.It’s also refreshing. …The Flatshare proves [romance is] possible; you just have to get creative. O’Leary’s book is a fun read and a hugely promising debut.”
—Coastal Living

“Feel-good fiction at its best.”
Independent (UK)

"Tiffy and Leon will stay in your head long after you turn the final page.This is a gorgeously written, highly original love story that will resonate with anyone who has ever experienced the questionable joys of shared living.I absolutely loved it."Phoebe Morgan, #1 bestselling author ofThe Doll House

“In the league of Bridget Jonesand Marian Keyes’ Walsh sister books … Fresh, funny and feel-good.”
—Claire Allan, bestselling author ofThe First Time I Said Goodbye

of 67

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.