Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers Fall 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
FAIRY SCIENCE
Fairy Science
By (author): Ashley Spires
9780735264250 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 3 - 7, Grade (US) from P - 2 JUVENILE FICTION / Fairy Tales & Folklore / General Sep 10, 2019
$21.99 CAD
Active 10.25 x 10.45 x 0.42 in 40 pages FULL-COLOR THROUGHOUT Tundra Books
The award-winning author of The Most Magnificent Thing introduces the value of science and inquiry to young readers with humor and heart. For fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Hidden Figures.

Esther the fairy doesn’t believe in magic. But fairies are all about magic, despite Esther’s best efforts to reveal the science of their world. No matter how she and her bird, Albert, explain that rainbows are refracted light rather than a path to gold, or that mist is water evaporating rather than an evil omen, or the importance of the scientific method, her fairymates would rather just do magic. So when the other fairies’ solution to helping a dying tree is to do a mystical moonlight dance, Esther decides to take it upon herself to resuscitate the tree…with the scientific method, some hypothesizing, a few experiments and the heady conclusion that trees need sunlight to live! But while Esther manages to save the tree, she can’t quite change the minds of her misguided fairymates…or can she?

Fairy Science, the first in a hilarious new picture book series, introduces a charming, determined heroine as she learns about the world and celebrates the joys of curiosity and exploring science.

Series Overview: First in a two-book deal for a series (Fairy Science) featuring Esther that we hope to continue if sales are positive.

BESTSELLING AUTHOR/ILLUSTRATOR: Ashley’s books are known for teaching patience and discovery, and The Most Magnificent Thing has sold over 22k copies in Canada.

STEM APPEAL: Fairy Science introduces age-appropriate science concepts like erosion, evaporation and photosynthesis in a way that is fun for kids to learn. It also teaches the scientific method, so kids understand the basics of creating experiments.

STRONG FEMALE HEROINE: Esther is feisty but friendly, an empowering guide to the world of science.

REAL SCIENCE BACK MATTER: A note in the back matter fact checks the major scientific concepts introduced in the book to help kids know what is true and what elements took some fairy magic to achieve.

HANDS-ON ACTIVITY: The final page of the book includes an experiment that readers can try at home.

HUMOR: Esther and Albert are a plucky duo, and the fairymates are silly and lovable.

CO-PUBLISHERS: Strong partner with Crown Books for Young Readers in the U.S.

Author and illustrator ASHLEY SPIRES grew up in Tsawwassen, BC and after stints living in Toronto and Saskatoon, she now lives in Ladner, having made an educated decision to never move from B.C. again. She is the creator of the Binky The Space Cat series of junior graphic novels and the bestselling The Most Magnificent Thing, soon to be an animated short film. When not drawing, she is often jogging with her dog Gordon or cuddling her growing brood of cats.

Author Residence: Ladner, British Columbia

Author Hometown: Tsawwassen, British Columbia

Marketing: -Fairies vs Unicorns joint activity kit

-Fairies vs Unicorns PRHC YR newsletter

-Paid social advertising

-Stickers

-Poster

-Fall preview title

-Consider gift guide

Publicity: -Fairies vs Unicorns joint events

-Fairies vs Unicorns joint media

Author Website: www.ashleyspires.com

Author Social Media: @ashleyspires

PRAISE FOR ASHLEY SPIRES:

“Spires’s mix of sly, dry and slapstick humor in her first graphic novel is perfect.”—Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews (Binky the Space Cat)

“Fans will celebrate; aliens will quiver in fright.”—Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews (Binky Under Pressure)

“…a doozy of a picture book…big, bold pages will be enjoyed by big groups and independent readers alike.”—Starred Review, Booklist (Larf)

“Humor has always been a strong suit for Spires, and her drily funny storytelling will entertain children, older siblings and adults alike.”—Publishers Weekly (Larf)

“Spires’ tale of an unconventional pirate might travel familiar ground, but her dry humor, so wonderfully displayed in the Binky graphic novels, elevates Saul to great heights. The cartoon watercolor illustrations are always hilariously at odds with the understated text. Charrrh-ming.”—Kirkus Reviews (Small Saul)

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.