Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers Fall 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Ghost Road
By (author): Charis Cotter
9780735263253 Paperback, Trade English Juvenile: Age (years) from 9 - 12, Grade (US) from 4 - 7 JUVENILE FICTION / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural Sep 03, 2019
$12.99 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.25 x 0.85 in 368 pages Tundra Books
Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets—and two girls who have to figure it all out. A book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener.

For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she’s never met instead of spending the summer traveling with her dad. When she arrives, she finds Newfoundland is very different from her life in Toronto—people there are much more friendly, but also superstitious, believing in ghosts and The Sight and family curses. Ruth’s cousin Ruby is also staying for the summer, and the two discover they have a lot in common: they both lost their moms when they were two years old, they’re the same age and they even like the same food. But while Ruby believes in spirits and fairies, Ruth believes in science and cold, hard facts.

When they find ominous information on some tombstones in the local cemetery, Ruth and Ruby start investigating their family’s past and discover that twin girls are born in every generation, and every set of twins dies young, leaving their children without mothers. What’s more, one of the twins always has The Sight and can see the Ghost Road that leads to the mysterious lost settlement of Slippers Cove. What happened there? What does it have to do with their family? And who is the ghostly presence that keeps visiting Ruth late at night?

The answers lie somewhere along the Ghost Road…if they can only find it.

Story Locale: Newfoundland

STRONG REVIEWS: The Ghost Road has already received a starred review from Kirkus!

BOOKLIST COVER: The illustration from the book’s cover was featured as the cover of the August 2018 edition of Booklist.

SUSPENSEFUL GHOST STORY: This compelling and atmospheric story weaves family lore, superstition, familial tensions and friendship together into a taut mystery.

STONG FEMALE CHARACTERS: Ruth and Ruby are tough, smart and spirited, and as their friendship grows, they find they are loyal and brave as well.

A TIMELESS FUTURE CLASSIC: This story is set in 1980 but reads like it could be happening now. It feels classic but still contemporary and will backlist well.

FOLLOW-UP TO PREVIOUS SUCCESS: Charis’s first book The Swallow is an award-winner that has netted 12,735 copies to date and garnered rave reviews. The Painting, Charis’s second book, received a positive review from Kirkus.

GREAT PROMOTER: Charis does school visits, library visits and bookstore events, and she’s a talented performer and promoter.

FAMILY STORY: This book touches on family history, a family curse and family secrets—but it is also about choosing your family and going beyond blood ties.

CHARIS COTTER grew up beside a cemetery and has been living with ghosts ever since. She studied English in university and went to drama school in London, England. Her spooky, suspenseful first novel, The Swallow, was nominated for many awards and received countless honors, and her second novel, The Painting, is “full of emotional truth and connection” according to Kirkus Reviews. Charis has worked extensively in schools and libraries from coast to coast, using drama and storytelling to bring her books to life. Her performances of Newfoundland ghost stories have thrilled audiences of all ages, from Florida to Vancouver Island. She lives at the end of the road beside the ocean, in one of the most haunted parts of Newfoundland.

Author Residence: Western Bay, NL

Author Hometown: Toronto, ON

Author Website: www.chariscotter.ca

Author Social Media: Twitter: @CharisCotter

PRAISE FOR The Ghost Road:

“Cotter’s complex and engrossing story is enhanced by its superbly presented isolated Newfoundland setting and a satisfying dose of ghosts.”—Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

“A delightful ghost story full of mystery and intrigue, with just the right amount of creepiness.”—Highly Recommended, CM Magazine

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.