Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan Tor Fall 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Chronicles of Ghadid 2
The Impossible Contract
Book 2 in the Chronicles of Ghadid
By (author): K. A. Doore
9780765398574 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Fantasy / Epic Nov 12, 2019 Print Run: 50000
$24.50 CAD
Forthcoming 5.38 x 8.25 x 0.97 in 368 pages Tor/Forge Tor Books

The Impossible Contract is the second book in K. A. Doore's high fantasy adventure series the Chronicles of Ghadid, where a determined assassin travels to the heart of the Empire in pursuit of a powerful mark, for fans of Robin Hobb, Sarah J. Maas, and S. A. Chakraborty

An assassin’s reputation can mean life or death.

This holds especially true for Thana Basbowen, daughter of the legendary Serpent, who rules over Ghadid’s secret clan of assassins. When a top-tier contract drops in her lap — death orders against foreign ambassador Heru Sametket — Thana seizes the opportunity.

Yet she may be in over her head. Heru wields blasphemous powers against his enemies, and Thana isn’t the only person after his life: even the undead pursue him, leaving behind a trail of horror. Her mission leads her on a journey to the heart of a power-hungry empire, where dangers lurk around every corner. Her only ally is Mo, a determined healer set to protect Ghadid any way she can.

As further occult secrets are unleashed, however, the aftermath of this impossible contract may be more than anyone can handle.

The Chronicles of Ghadid
#1:The Perfect Assassin
#2:The Impossible Contract
#3:The Unconquered City

K. A. DOORE was born in Florida but has since lived in Washington, Arizona, and Germany. She has a BA in Classics and Foreign Languages and an enduring fascination with linguistics. These days she writes fantasy in mid-Michigan and develops online trainings for child welfare professionals.The Impossible Contract is the second novel in the Chronicles of Ghadid trilogy, following her debutThe Perfect Assassin.

“What a phenomenal book filled with sublime worldbuilding and memorable characters! Seriously, I cannot praise it enough. Doore never flinches from telling a story that is fast-paced, brutal, and fantastic in every sense of the word. Loved it!” — Jenn Lyons, author ofThe Ruin of Kings

“Doore’s second novel (afterThe Perfect Assassin) continues the lush worldbuilding and inclusive characters of the first, while establishing exciting action- and emotion-filled sequences that will keep readers engaged.” —Library Journal, starred review

“The gutsy heroine of the second stand-alone high fantasy in Doore’s Chronicles of Ghadid series (afterThe Perfect Assassin) embarks on a heart-pounding adventure through an inviting, richly imagined world....New readers and series fans alike will be hooked by this triumphant fantasy adventure.” —Publishers Weekly

ForThe Perfect Assassin

“With a mix of heart and adventure, and set in a wonderfully inventive new world, K.A. Doore’s debut shines.” —S. A. Chakraborty, author ofThe Kingdom of Copper

“Doore wows with this outstanding fantasy debut based on mythology from Egypt and sub-Saharan Africa. Doore is a force to be reckoned with, blending a stirring plot, elegant worldbuilding, effortless style, and diverse, empathetic characters. Her debut is sure to be a hit with fans of Sarah J. Maas and George R.R. Martin.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

The Perfect Assassin is one of those rare books that manages to be both thrilling and tender. It's full of rooftop fights, frightening magic, and nonstop excitement and mystery, while at the same time it's a thought-provoking exploration of what it means to be a monster and the power of love and forgiveness. I absolutely loved it from start to finish!” — Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series

“The writing is smooth and the world immersive, the characters lively and distinct; it's queer AF, well-paced and fascinating and political, and grapples with the morality of assassination in a thoughtful and considered way.” —Sam Hawke, Aurealis Award-winning author ofCity of Lies

“K. A. Doore has crafted a thrilling and poignant tale on the costs of loyalty. In the city of Ghadid, ideas of justice and family battle and braid themselves around each other in action-packed fashion. Part murder mystery, part family saga, part coming-of-age chronicle,The Perfect Assassinintrigues and excites in equal measure.” –Tochi Onyebuchi, author ofBeasts Made of Night

"In a high-flung desert city, a reluctant assassin's choices threaten his family's way of life, those he loves, and, worst of all, the spirits of the dead. Amastan Basbowen's options are all dangerous, but he must move forward. The ensuing intrigue forms the core of a highly exciting adventure.” — Fran Wilde, Hugo and Nebula nominated, Andre Norton Award winning author ofUpdraft

“Set in a world of believable richness,The Perfect Assassincombines a suspenseful plot with a memorable cast of characters, and an assassin protagonist who is compelled to make hard choices.” —Ilana C. Myer, author ofLast Song Before Night andFire Dance

“A bold, original adventure set in a world of enthralling beauty. The Perfect Assassin shimmers with mystery and romance, and with characters whose courage and charisma brighten every page.” — Ausma Zehanat Khan, author of The Bloodprint

“Fascinating world building with all the mystery and appeal of the One Thousand and One Nights.” —Duncan M. Hamilton, author of the Wolf of the North series

“Doore’s thrilling fantasy debut is a suspenseful murder mystery wrapped around a coming-of-age story, sprinkled with family intrigue, vengeful ghosts, and a gentle but bittersweet m/m romance. Ghadid, set on platforms hundreds of feet above shifting sands, is vividly described, with a fascinating history and culture that Doore folds in naturally. This author is one to watch.”—Booklist

The Perfect Assassin is part mystery, part thriller, part coming-of-age, and part explosive magic. It’s deeply entertaining, a smooth and rewarding read. I enjoyed Doore’s debut. And I’m seriously looking forward to seeing what she does next.” —Tor.com

of 37

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.