Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

July 2019 Canadian Fiction

more
Turbulence
By (author): David Szalay
9780771001673 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Jul 16, 2019
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.37 x 7.96 x 0.45 in 144 pages McClelland & Stewart
From the acclaimed, Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of All That Man Is, a stunning, virtuosic novel about twelve people, mostly strangers, and the surprising ripple effect each one has on the life of the next as they cross paths while in transit around the world.

A woman strikes up a conversation with the man sitting next to her on a plane after some turbulence. He returns home to tragic news that has also impacted another stranger, a shaken pilot on his way to another continent who seeks comfort from a journalist he meets that night. Her life shifts subtly as well, before she heads to the airport on an assignment that will shift more lives in turn.

In this wondrous, profoundly moving novel, Szalay’s diverse protagonists circumnavigate the planet in twelve flights, from London to Madrid, from Dakar to Sao Paulo, to Toronto, to Delhi, to Doha, en route to see lovers or estranged siblings, aging parents, baby grandchildren, or nobody at all. Along the way, they experience the full range of human emotions from loneliness to love and, knowingly or otherwise, change each other in one brief, electrifying interaction after the next.

Written with magic and economy and beautifully exploring the delicate, crisscrossed nature of relationships today, Turbulence is a dazzling portrait of the interconnectedness of the modern world.

Story Locale: Cities worldwide from London to Sao Paolo to Hong Kong to Budapest

TRADE PAPERBACK ORIGINAL

URGENT GLOBAL THEME: All That Man Is was described as “emergency writing for our times” by the New York Times, and with this new book Szalay continues in this mode and turns his attention to migration.

AUDIENCE: For readers of Rachel Cusk’s Transit, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, Viet Thanh Nguyen’s The Refugees, Tommy Orange’s There There, and Ottessa Moshfegh’s Homesick for Another World—a group of writers who perfectly capture and reflect the reality of the world from multiple viewpoints.

MAN BOOKER-SHORTLISTED AUTHOR (2016): Also a Telegraph Top 20 British Writer under 40 and one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists.

MAJOR EXPOSURE AHEAD OF PUBLICATION: Each story has been commissioned for BBC Radio 4 and will be broadcast in the UK on consecutive Sundays between October and December 2018—in the evening slot, which attracts on average one million listeners per episode.

PUBLISHING PARTNERS: Jonathan Cape (UK) will publish in December 2018, and Scribner (US) will publish in July 2019. Given Szalay’s acclaim in the UK, we can expect strong coverage ahead of Canadian publication.

DAVID SZALAY is the author of four previous works of fiction including London and the South-East, for which he was awarded the Betty Trask and Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prizes, and All That Man Is, for which he was awarded the Gordon Burn Prize and Plimpton Prize for Fiction, and shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Born in Canada, he grew up in London, and now lives in Budapest.

Author Residence: Hungary

Author Hometown: Montreal, Quebec

Marketing: Social media advertising



Publicity: Pitch for reviews in national dailies and literary publications

Praise for David Szalay and Turbulence:

“What Turbulence shares with its predecessor is Szalay’s characteristically effortless prose, his ability to distil lives into vignettes, the sense of an author whose curiosity about his fellow humans is boundless.”—The Guardian

“Page by page…Szalay’s mixture of directness and withholding looks increasingly masterly.”—Financial Times

“A chilling achievement.”—Evening Standard

of 22

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.