has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

2019 May & June Loan Stars Jr. Top Picks

more
Before They Were Authors: Famous Writers As Kids
By (author): Elizabeth Haidle Illustrated by: Elizabeth Haidle
Elizabeth Haidle ,

Illustrated by :

Elizabeth Haidle

Imprint:

Clarion Books

ISBN:

9781328801531

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 10, Grade (US) 5
May 14, 2019
$23.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

10in x 7.5 in | 12.74 oz

Page Count:

64 pages

Illustrations:

Full-color illustrations
HarperCollins
Clarion Books
JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / General
Graphic novel / Comic book: memoirs, true stories and non-fiction|Children’s / Teenage general interest: Biography and autobiography|Children’s / Teenage general interest: Work and society|Children’s / Teenage general interest: Literature, books and writers|Children’s / Teenage general interest: Girls and women|Children’s / Teenage general interest: Boys and men
This exciting debut in graphic novel format tells the childhood stories of literary legends including Maya Angelou, Roald Dahl, and Sandra Cisnernos. Perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World.

What makes a writer? What inspires them? Where do their stories come from? Striking illustrations and a popular graphic novel format bring to life this anthology of literary legends and their childhoods. Featuring beloved authors such as Maya Angelou, C.S. Lewis, Gene Luen Yang and J.K. Rowling, these stories capture the childhood triumphs, failures, and inspirations that predated their careers.

Children ages ten and up will see themselves in these humanized portraits and wonder if they, too, might have it in them to write. A celebration of creativity, this collective graphic biography is sprinkled throughout with writing wisdom and inspiring quotes.

Elizabeth Haidle is the co-founder of Mascot Press, creating thought-provoking comics and animations. She has an incurable passion for illustrated biographies and low-maintenance gardening. Her first book, at age 13, was about a grumpy elf with a pet snail. Bill Peet is her favorite children's book author. She lives in Portland, Oregon.
www.DocuComix.com
Twitter: @ehaidle
Instagram: @ehaidle

Elizabeth Haidle is the co-founder of Mascot Press, creating thought-provoking comics and animations. She has an incurable passion for illustrated biographies and low-maintenance gardening. Her first book, at age 13, was about a grumpy elf with a pet snail. Bill Peet is her favorite children's book author. She lives in Portland, Oregon.
www.DocuComix.com
Twitter: @ehaidle
Instagram: @ehaidle

"[A] pleasing design aesthetic, and myriad details invite prolonged perusing." —Publishers Weekly "[F]ans of classic children’s literature will enjoy this reverential and playful volume."—Booklist

of 10

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.