Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

August 2019 Canadian Fiction

more
Cedric O'Toole Mystery 4
Blood Ties
By (author): Barbara Fradkin
9781459818255 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth Aug 27, 2019
$9.95 CAD
Active 4.75 x 7.25 x 0.32 in 160 pages FSC certified – mixed sources C103214 Orca Book Publishers Rapid Reads
Can Cedric handle the truth?

Country handyman Cedric O’Toole finds his life turned upside down when a stranger named Steve shows up at his farm, claiming to be his brother. Steve believes they have the same father, and he is on a quest to find him, as Cedric’s unwed mother took the secret of their father’s identity to her grave.

Together Steve and Cedric embark on a hunt for answers. At every turn, people seem to have secrets: the police officer who investigated a suspicious death years ago and who is now the chief near retirement, Cedric’s aunt Penny, who knows all the gossip in the town but claims to know nothing about the death and, most alarming of all, Cedric’s own grandparents and uncle, who insist no good will come of his questions.

What are they all hiding? And does Cedric really want to know the answers?

Barbara Fradkin is a child psychologist with a fascination for how people turn bad. Her compelling short stories haunt numerous magazines and anthologies, but she is best known for her two series of gritty, psychological novels, one featuring Ottawa police inspector Michael Green and the more recent one with foreign-aid worker Amanda Doucette. Barbara won Arthur Ellis Best Novel Awards for both Fifth Son (2005) and Honour Among Men (2007). Her work as a school psychologist helping adolescents and younger children, many of whom struggle with reading, has also made her a strong advocate of programs that help develop reading as a lifelong passion. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario.

Key Selling Points
This book reflects the current interest in tracing family backgrounds and identifying previously
unknown blood relatives through DNA.
Illustrates how many soldiers who return from the Middle East struggle with PTSD.
Explores the close-knit, often claustrophobic, ties of village life and religion.
Includes the subthemes of self-sufficient homesteading and organic produce.
As a child psychologist, author Barbara Fradkin is fascinated by how long a shadow childhood trauma casts over one’s life.

Marketing and Promo Plans
Print and online advertising campaigns
Promotion at national and regional school, library and trade conferences
Extensive ARC distribution, including NetGalley and LibraryThing
Blog post and social media promotion
Outreach in Orca newsletter
Letter campaign to colleges and literacy centres for outreach to international and ESL students
Continued promotion of Cedrick O’Toole Mystery series

“Perfect for fans of James Patterson’s BookShots series...Fradkin’s tale keeps readers engaged with just enough tantalizing details to provide intrigue and suspense.” - Booklist

of 41

Also Available

The Night Thief Barbara Fradkin 9781459808669 $9.95 CAD Apr 01, 2015
Evil Behind That Door Barbara Fradkin 9781459801004 $9.95 CAD Sep 01, 2012
The Fall Guy Barbara Fradkin 9781554698356 $9.95 CAD Apr 01, 2011

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.