Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand Key Titles Shipping July 2019 ONTARIO

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Biblioasis International Translation Series 26
Dishwasher, The
By (author): Stéphane Larue Translated by: Pablo Strauss
9781771962698 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Aug 06, 2019
$22.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.5 x 1.15 in 464 pages Biblioasis

Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential meets Dostoyevsky The Gambler—with metalhead appeal.

It’s winter in Montreal, 2002, when a graphic design student’s gambling addiction starts to drag him under. In debt to the metal band that’s commissioned him to draw their album cover and ensnared in lies to his friends and his cousin, he takes the first job that promises a paycheck: dishwasher at La Trattoria, a high-end restaurant, where he finds himself thrust, on his first night, into roiling world of characters. A magnificent, hyperrealist debut, with a soundtrack by Iron Maiden, The Dishwasher plunges us into a world in which—for better or for worse—everyone depends on each other.


Stéphane Larue was born in Longueuil in 1983. He received a master's in comparative literature at L'Université de Montréal and has worked in the restaurant industry for the past fifteen years. He lives in Montréal. The Dishwasher is his first book.

  • Print run: 5,000
  • Co-op available
  • Advance reader copies at Winter Institute
  • North American TV & radio campaign: CBC Sunday Edition, Next Chapter, Writers & Co
  • National print campaign: Canadian Notes and Queries, Literary Review of Canada, Quill & Quire, The Walrus; Globe and Mail, Montreal Gazette, National Post, Toronto Star, Vancouver Sun, Winnipeg Free Press
  • Online and social media campaign: giveaways through Edelweiss, Facebook, Goodreads, Twitter, Instagram.
  • E-book available same date as print edition, e-book ISBN included on press materials and websites and promoted via social media
  • Indies Introduce nomination
  • Winter Institute attendance
  • B&T ARC program

Praise for The Dishwasher

"Vivid and moving." —The New York Times Book Review

"Carries you away like a speeding taxi in the harsh, dazzling Montreal night." —Catherine Leroux, Giller-shortlisted author of The Party Wall and Madame Victoria

"Utterly absorbing...[an] engrossing look at addiction, city life, music, and work." —Book Riot

"[The Dishwasher] conjures a vivid and unnerving portrait of a work-world that throbs with stress." —CBC The Sunday Edition

"A compelling coming-of-age novel told at the speed of thrash metal: an unlikely and masterful combination of inventive literary autofiction and an irresistible page-turner...The Dishwasher is a gripping tale of unlikely friendships, a romp through the underworld of late-night Montreal, and a blazing thrash metal ode to the heart of every restaurant, the humble dish pit." —Montreal Review of Books

"A Québécois bestseller thankfully arrives for English readers. One can see how this bleak bildungsroman attracted so much attention in Canada...[The Dishwasher] reads like a cross between the dearly departed Anthony Bourdain and Stephanie Danler’s Sweetbitter, combining the complicated life of a kitchen wretch with a highly literate voice...hypnotizing." —Kirkus Reviews

"Quickly adopted by the kitchen-culture crowd before crossing over to mainstream bestseller lists...There’s no reason to think English Canada won’t soon follow suit with Pablo Strauss’s compulsively readable translation...Larue’s eye is so keen, his grip on his milieu so sure." —Montreal Gazette

"In The Dishwasher, Stéphane Larue invests in plot and character. Chapters are paced like restaurant work: there are quiet lulls for you to catch your breath and torrid rushes where nothing stops moving, the type of chaos where the only way to stay on your feet is to wildly tumble forward...Pablo Strauss’ translation creates a narrator and a world of energy and exhaustion....masterful." —Asymptote

"Captivating...consistently propulsive and acutely perceptive." —Hamilton Review of Books

"Larue recounts his story in an energetic style that will keep the reader emotionally vested in the life of The Dishwasher." —CBC Montreal

"An immersive look at the restaurant world make[s] for a gripping read in The Dishwasher...[a] gripping take on a damaged young man finding his place in a particular subculture, and the precise details make for a work that sits comfortably beside works by Anthony Bourdain and George Orwell." —Words Without Borders

"Highly satisfying and original...utterly propulsive, its effects mesmerizing."—Literary Review of Canada

"A gruff-yet-affable working class lament, seasoned with hangdog determination and bleary verisimilitude. From the bar booths to the slop sinks to the shooting galleries of a painstakingly rendered Montreal, Larue proves himself a more than adept raconteur of blackout debauchery and wage labor drudgery. Think Nelson Algren by way of Bud Smith, such is the hardscrabble exactitude on offer in this wincing grin of a novel. An industrious and absorbing slab of cutthroat cuisine, Québécois death metal, and gambler’s dilemmas." —Justin Walls, Powell's Books (Portland, OR)

"I've never been to Montreal but I have worked in restaurants and Stéphane Larue's The Dishwasher made me feel as if I do know that world in great, mad, detail. More importantly, it goes so beyond being a food industry novel or a novel about metal or gambling, it is a book that is both tender and tough. I appreciate this book for all that it must've taken to create--it is a wondrous thing." —Hans Weyandt, Milkweed Books (Minneapolis, MN)

"The Dishwasher is a tragi-comic adventure through the dark underbelly of a high end Montreal restaurant kitchen that follows a down on his luck 30-something brilliantly talented artist with fabulous taste in music and a little gambling addiction. As much a philosophical dive into life, love, trust, obsession, and heavy metal as just a damn good story, The Dishwasher made me laugh, cringe,shake my head and drool over amazing food. I absolutely just couldn't put this quirky cool debut novel by Canadian author Larue that is just perfect for fans of David Sedaris or Anthony Bourdain." —Angie Tally, The Country Bookshop (Southern Pines, NC)

"Prepare to get your soul scrubbed down and wrung out. This novel from Quebec captures a world that will be familiar to folks in the service and music industry. Vividly painted scenes from the trenches of a barely-functional kitchen during a rush followed by dizzying late-night get togethers make up this portrait of the loneliness of late-capitalism and the strength we can find from art and our allies. Gritty, loud, and compassionate." —Luis Correa, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)

"A simple story of a want-to-be-artist that has to come to terms with the reality of his vices and get out of his own way. The pacing and phrasing of this novel is in beautiful contrast to the raw story told. The sense of place is unforgettable. From the behind the scenes look of working in a restaurant to the weight of addiction, I devoured every page as I found myself hopeful for the underdog in this brilliant debut." —Shannon Alden, Literati Bookshop (Ann Arbor, MI)

“The only thing I did last weekend was read The Dishwasher.” —Caitlin Luce Baker, Island Books (Seattle, WA)

"A perfectly crafted story...the narrator’s conquest of his gambling addiction ebbs and flows, marked by success and failure, hope and defeat...The Dishwasher is a thoughtful examination of a young man at the end of his options—a humanizing, emotive, and entertaining tale of personal growth." —Foreword Reviews

"The turbulent, immersive narration is an experience on its own. The result is often breathtaking: five hundred feverish pages that take us to a place somewhere between Dostoyevsky's The Gambler and Anthony Bourdain's KItchen Confidential.... Poignant and magnificent." —Le Devoir (Montreal)

"Feverish writing, Montreal streets and characters magnificently described, mind-bending descriptions of what happens behind the scenes at restaurants--you'll never see them in the same way once you've finished the book--a story that is both a dark tale and an existential suspense story, it all combines to make the book unputdownable.... It may be over 500 pages long, but so moving is the story that once you've started it, you feel the irresistible desire to devour it in a single sitting." —Le Soleil (Quebec City)

of 22

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.