Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

September 2019 Canadian Non-Fiction

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Raincoast Book Distribution Limited Supplies to: CA Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Oct 09, 2019 On Sale Date: Sep 17, 2019 Carton Quantity: 20 $39.95 CAD
  • Catalogues

Scarred
The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life (True Crime Memoir, Cult Books)
9781452184265 Hardcover English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs Sep 17, 2019
$39.95 CAD
Active 6.48 x 9.09 x 0.95 in 248 pages Chronicle Books Chronicle Prism
The shocking and subversive memoir of a 12-year-NXIVM-member-turned-whistleblower, and her inspiring true story of abuse, escape, and redemption.

"Master, would you brand me? It would be an honor."Scarredfollows actress Sarah Edmondson's account of her recruitment into the NXIVM cult, founded by Keith Raniere. It narrates in detail the 12 years she spent within the organization, during which she enrolled over 2,000 members, chronicling her breaking point and her harrowing fight to get out, help others, and heal.

• Complete with personal photographs, this tell-all follows Sarah from the moment she takes her first NXIVM seminar, to the invitation she accepts from her best friend, Lauren Salzman, into DOS—a "secret sisterhood" within the cult—to her journey toward becoming a key witness in the federal case against its founders.
• Readers will learn how cults like NXIVM get started, why people get involved (and stay), and the importance of whistleblowers who bring light to illegal and unethical practices.
• Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in the CBS seriesSalvation and more than 12 films for the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime. She is featured in the CBC podcastUncover: Escaping NXIVM andThe Vow, the upcoming HBO documentary series on NXIVM.

Scarred isn't just about NXIVM. It is also a story about abuses of power, the role female friendships play in cults, and how sometimes the search to be "better" can override everything else.

• A thrilling read for fans of true crime and cults, as well as listeners of podcasts likeMy Favorite Murder andUp and Vanished.
• Great for fans of Troublemaker:Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini,Escape by Carolyn Jessop,Beyond Belief by Jenna Miscavige Hill, andBad Blood by John Carreyrou.
• Evokes questions about friendship, ethics, good and evil, making it a perfect selection for book clubs.

Audio edition read by the author.

Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in the CBS seriesSalvation and more than twelve films for the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime. She is also a well-established voice-over artist for popular series such asTransformers: Cybertron andMy Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic. She is featured in the CBC podcastUncover: Escaping NXIVM andThe Vow, the upcoming HBO documentary series on NXIVM.

Kristine Gasbarre is the author of the memoirHow to Love an American Man, as well as the co-writer of the #1New York Times bestsellingEtched in Sand by Regina Calcaterra. Her work has been featured in such media outlets asPeople,Glamour, and the Oprah Winfrey Network.

"At once riveting and disturbing,Scarred is a brave but messy stab at redemption." —The New York Times

of 190

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.