has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Mango Publishing Winter 2020

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA
  • Supply Detail (CA)

    Distributor: Raincoast Book Distribution Limited Supplies to: CA Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Apr 20, 2022 On Sale Date: Dec 03, 2019 Carton Quantity: 24 $28.95 CAD
  • Catalogues

Eat Your Words
The Definitive Dictionary for the Discerning Diner
By (author): Paul Convery
Paul Convery

Imprint:

Mango Media

ISBN:

9781642501346

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Paper over boards
Hardcover , Paper over boards
English
Dec 03, 2019
$28.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.55in x 5.86 x 1.21 in | 540 gr

Page Count:

364 pages
Mango
Mango Media
COOKING / History
The Comprehensive Etymology of Eating Eat Your Words is a gloriously gluttonous glossary of all things grub and gastronomy: It's a true treat for anyone who loves language as much as they love food. With witty and fun definitions of everything from aeroponics to zoosaprophagy, this compilation offers definitions of 6,000 unusual and unfamiliar terms across twenty-one fact-packed courses.
For bon viveurs and verbivores alike: Are you a gourmet who knows the difference between Maldon and Morton salt? Maybe you're an expert on the properties of heat in cooking. Or you're a cocktail connoisseur with a taste for tequila. Eat Your Words is a surprising treat for anyone who loves learning about food and cooking. If you're looking for cooking gifts for a friend who devoured Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, this culinary dictionary is the perfect fit.
A delight for word nerds: For Scrabble stars and anyone who excels at Words with Friends, Eat Your Words is a clever guide to little-known culinary terms that will give you that special edge.
In Eat Your Words: The Definitive Dictionary for Discerning Diners, you'll find terms about:
* A cornucopia of culinary treats from around the world * The cultivation, selling, and serving of every food you can imagine * The appetites of diners and their dinners across all species This new dictionary from the author of Drinktionary: The Definitive Dictionary for the Discerning Drinker and Inkhorn's Erotonomicon: An Advanced Sexual Vocabulary for Verbivores and Vulgarians is the fun reference book you didn't know you wanted. Fans of Tequila Mockingbird and On Food and Cooking will enjoy this fascinating journey into the language of food and eating.

Paul Convery is a "word doctor" with 20 years' experience as a proofreader, copy-editor and magazine production manager. A lifelong logophile, he is the author of Drinktionary: The Definitive Dictionary for the Discerning Drinker (Book Guild, 2017), and has independently published Inkhorn's Erotonomicon: An Advanced Sexual Vocabulary for Verbivores and Vulgarians (Matador, 2012). His earlier academic grounding includes postgraduate language studies (University of Strathclyde) and doctoral research in modern European history (University of Glasgow).

of 35

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.