Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan Wednesday Books Winter 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Foul is Fair
A Novel
By (author): Hannah Capin
9781250239549 Hardcover, Dust jacket English Young Adult : Age (years) from 14 - 18 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Thrillers & Suspense Feb 18, 2020 Print Run: 75000
$25.99 CAD
Active 5.59 x 8.58 x 1.22 in | 390 gr 336 pages St. Martin's Press Wednesday Books

Hannah Capin'sFoul is Fairis a bloody, thrilling revenge fantasy for the girls who have had enough.Perfectfor fans of Karen M. McManus andA Good Girl's Guide to Murder. Golden boys beware: something wicked this way comes.

Jade and her friends Jenny, Mads, and Summer rule their glittering LA circle. Untouchable, they have the kind of power other girls only dream of. Every party is theirs and the world is at their feet. Until the night of Jade's sweet sixteen, when they crash a St. Andrew’s Prep party. The night the golden boys choose Jade as their next target.

They picked the wrong girl.

Sworn to vengeance, Jade transfers to St. Andrew’s Prep. She plots to destroy each boy, one by one. She'll take their power, their lives, and their control of the prep school's hierarchy. And she and her coven have the perfect way in: a boy named Mack, whose ambition could turn deadly.

Hannah Capin is the author ofFoul is Fair andThe Dead Queens Club, a feminist retelling of the wives of Henry VIII. When she isn’t writing, she can be found singing, sailing, or pulling marathon gossip sessions with her girl squad. She lives in Tidewater, Virginia.

MEDIUM,"Most Anticipated Young Adult Books of 2020"

BOOKRIOT,Recommended 2020 YA read

PASTE, "The Top 10 Best Young Adult Novels of February 2020"

POPSUGAR, "34 Promising New YA Books to Look Out For in 2020"

PUREWOW,"16 of the Best Young Adult Books Flying Off the Shelves This Holiday Season"

"This isn’t a how-to-murder-your-classmates manual; it’s a ferocious, frenzied reaction to a world that has, for too long, treated women as collateral damage in stories that have been deemed more important than theirs...Jade’s first-person narrative, steeped in rage and drenched, unapologetically, with gore, moves at a relentless pace." -Booklist(Starred Review)

"Rhythmic, propulsive prose drives this bloody retelling of Macbeth at a relentless pace all the way to its violent end...impossible to put down." -Kirkus

"An unapologetic, addictive tour de force that will leave readers entranced and empowered, a fantastically grafted story with an inevitable ending that you won’t soon forget." - The Nerd Daily

"This revenge fantasy is as brutal as it is beautiful...An absolutely gorgeous retelling, artistry on every page, Oscar-worthy if it were a film." -NPR.org

"Capin’s twisty, blood-soaked take on Shakespeare’s play is a propulsive, white-hot juggernaut of vengeance that packs a viscerally satisfying punch." -Publishers Weekly

"This revenge fantasy told from the point of view of a rape survivor will shock and awe." -School Library Journal

"This book is not to be missed." -Paste

"Capin’s writing will seduce you with its beauty and then, when you least suspect it, slice you to the bone—just likeFoul is Fair’s captivating, vicious, entirely unforgettable heroine, Jade." - Layne Fargo, author ofTemperand co-host of Unlikeable Female Characters Podcast

"Fierce, vicious, and electric. If books had teeth,Foul Is Fairwould have fangs. Capin's language glittersdark and her writing cuts deep. Revenge is a dish best served by this deliciously unapologetic coven." - Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author ofFirsts andLast Girl Lied To

“Vicious and beautifully brutal,Foul is Fair gives a sword to every girl who has ever been a victim and makes them a warrior. This book is pulls no punches and will make anyone think twice before uttering the phrase ‘just a girl’. An unapologetic feminist battle-cry that leaves you breathless and thirsting for vengeance.” - Sonia Hartl, author ofHave a Little Faith in Me

"Foul is Fair delivers the story of a girl who snatches control back from a world that stole it away, through whatever means necessary. Hannah Capin deftly combines stunningly lyrical prose with the raw power of engulfing fury, sending a message written in blood. In a world where too many are forced into silence, this book roars back." - Sophie Gonzales, author ofThe Law of Inertia andOnly Mostly Devastated

"Jade does what uncounted sexual assault survivors have dreamed of doing--she takes matters into her own hands. What ensues is part Buffalo Bill-style revenge fantasy, part diabolically well-planned manipulation, and it's all done in lyrical prose that feels dreamy and so much like Shakespeare. A gorgeous, scorchingly emotional novel perfect for fans of Mindy McGinnis'The Female of the Species or Courtney Summers'All the Rage." - Wendy Heard, author ofHunting Annabelle andThe Kill Club and cohost of Unlikeable Female Characters podcast

Foul is Fair is a clever reimagining of Macbeth centering a teenage Lady M. It’s a dark, brutal revenge fantasy, sharply feminist and brimming with melodic prose. Capin’s sophomore novel is bloody brilliant—exceedingly bloody, and every bit as brilliant.” - Dana Mele, author ofPeople Like Us

of 15

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.