Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Random House Publishing Group, Fall 2015

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
  • Other Formats

    9780147520524 CD-Audio, $51 CAD 9780147520531 Downloadable audio file 9780812998085 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AN AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR ST SV SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: ROW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: On Sale Date: Jan 01, 2035 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

Concussion
By (author): Jeanne Marie Laskas
9780812998078 Hardcover English General Trade SPORTS & RECREATION / Football Oct 27, 2015
$35.00 CAD
Cancelled 288 pages Random House
The riveting, unlikely story of the pathologist who made one of the most significant medical discoveries of the 21st century—a discovery that challenges the existence of America’s favorite sport, and puts him in the crosshairs of its most powerful corporation: the NFL

In September of 2002, Dr. Bennet Omalu performed an autopsy that would change the course of his life. The body on the slab at the coroner’s office in Pittsburgh belonged to a 53 year-old named Mike Webster, who also happened to be a legendary, Hall of Fame center for the Pittsburgh Steelers. The same Mike Webster who, after retiring, suffered a dizzyingly steep decline in mental health; who was living out of his van; who treated his back pain with a Taser and used Super Glue to fix his rotting teeth. How did this happen? How did a relatively young man like Mike Webster end up like this? Omalu wanted to know. As a young Nigerian man born against the brutal backdrop of the Biafra Civil War, Omalu was all too familiar with death. Working as a forensic pathologist let him act as an advocate for the dead; a deeply religious man, he considered it his calling. What he discovered in Mike Webster’s brain—evidence of a trauma-related disease, similar to Alzheimer’s, that he named CTE—was proof that Webster’s decline was no accident, and he knew that it would kill scores of other athletes unless something was done to address it. Omalu naively believed that the NFL would welcome this discovery. Instead, it tried to destroy him, and discredit his findings.

Taut and gorgeously told, this is the intensely personal story of one man’s fight against a multi-billion dollar colossus determined to crush him. For fans of A Beautiful Mind and The Blind Side, this is a gripping and, ultimately, deeply affirming book.

JEANNE MARIE LASKAS is the author of six books, including Hidden America and The Exact Same Moon. Her writing has appeared in GQ, Esquire, the New York Times Magazine, O: The Oprah Magazine, and many other publications. Laskas serves as Director of The Writing Program at the University of Pittsburgh, where she teaches creative writing, and she lives on a horse farm in Pennsylvania with her husband and two children.

Author Residence: Scenery Hill, PA (outside of Pittsburgh)

Author Hometown: Media, PA (Philadelphia suburbs)

Marketing: Explore movie tie-in promotional opportunities with Sony

Early reviewer promotions on GoodReads and LibraryThing

Content-sharing and excerpt campaign on sites like Longform.com and Medium.com

Targeted mailings to sports bloggers

Mailings to sports advocacy groups

Mobile advertising on sites and apps including ESPN, Sports Illustrated, Deadspin, etc.

Feature title on the Random House websites, social platforms, and e-newsletters

Library marketing

Academic marketing



Publicity: National media attention

National/local review and feature print attention

National/local radio attention

Online review and feature attention

of 118

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.