Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Black History Month

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780451481696 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $15.99 CAD 9780593106112 Downloadable audio file, $36.5 CAD 9780451481689 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Oct 15, 2019 Carton Quantity:12
  • Catalogues

War Girls
By (author): Tochi Onyebuchi
9780451481672 Hardcover English Young Adult : Age (years) from 12, Grade (US) from 7 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings Oct 15, 2019
$24.99 CAD
Active 5.88 x 8.5 x 1.41 in | 1.28 lb 464 pages Razorbill
Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they’re willing to fight an entire war to get there.

Acclaimed author, Tochi Onyebuchi, has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.

STAR AUTHOR: With two critically acclaimed titles under his belt, Tochi Onyebuchi has established himself as a YA author to watch. Tochi is a tireless promoter and has snagged invities to all the major festivals, including North Texas Teen, NYCC, and the Portland Book Festival. He is a skilled public speaker and has charmed gatekeepers around the country. Tochi has also immersed himself in the YA community and has a supportive group of friends that includes Dhonielle Clayton, Julie C. Dao, and Tomi Adeyemi. He’s extremely active on social media and a true champion for YA books.

HIT FACTOR: With a vivid, detailed setting, a high-stakes plot, and characters readers will love to root for, War Girls has the makings of a bonafide hit. Tochi’s previous novels established him as a critic’s darling and War Girls will increase his star power even more as it appeals to readers looking for the next commercial hit, like Children of Blood and Bone.

DEEPLY PERSONAL, DEEPLY COMPELLING READ: War Girls is a commercial, action-packed adventure story, but it is also rooted in history and inspired by personal events. Tochi’s mother was a child during the Nigerian Civil War. Tochi drew on the heartbreaking stories his mother shared with him as well as his love of sci-fi worlds to create this rich, layered novel.

Tochi Onyebuchi is a writer based in Connecticut. He holds a BA from Yale, an MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, and a JD from Columbia Law School. Tochi is the author of Beasts Made of Night and Crown of Thunder.

Author Residence: New Haven, CT

Marketing: Series promotion at select consumer festivals including Comic Con International and New York Comic Con

Online promotion and social media outreach

Promotion at national school and library conferences

Librarian and educator outreach

"A brilliant novel about sisters, war, and freedom."--Booklist, starred review

“Onyebuchi has created a fascinating futuristic Nigeria and a plot filled with left hooks and upper cuts, even as he nobly illuminates one of the most pervasive conditions of the human experience.”--The New York Times Book Review

"Set amid the horrors of war in a world ravaged by climate change and nuclear disaster, this heart-wrenching and complex page-turner, drawn from the 1960s Nigerian civil war, will leave readers stunned and awaiting the second installment."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The intense plot is narrated in alternating third-person perspectives, and the author explores themes surrounding colonization, family, and the injustices of war. The story culminates in an unexpected, heart-wrenching end. An exhilarating series opener."--Kirkus Reviews

"[A] compulsively readable story with high action and high drama in equal measure. Perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi’s novels and the Pacific Rim films."--SLJ

War Girls
is a brutal and spectacular feat of imagination.”--Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles series.

of 135

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.