Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Thistledown Press Fall 2015

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
Mahihkan Lake
By (author): R.P. MacIntyre
9781771870535 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Family Life / General Oct 01, 2015
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.5 x 0.38 in | 300 gr 152 pages Thistledown Press
Immediately before his tragic death, stuttering mechanic Dave visits his younger brother Denny with a note for their sister Dianne. “D-don’t r-read it. D-don’t open it. D-don’t nnothing it,” Dave commands before taking off one last time for the abandoned family cabin at Mahihkan Lake, a place where disputes are settled with shotguns and arson is written off as an act of God. After the funeral – and a brief stint in rehab for the gin-dependent Denny – he and Dianne head north to spread their adopted brother’s ashes and attempt to rebuild their fractured relationship. Meanwhile Harold, a truck driver who has lost everything, sets out on a solo canoe trip towards his own cabin at Mahihkan, but a series of mishaps.

R.P. MacIntyre is best known for his award-winning young adult fiction. He has also written for television, radio, and the stage and has edited and compiled over thirty-five anthologies of YA fiction, one of which won the Canadian Librarian Association’s Book of the Year in 1997. Mahihkan Lake is his seventh book and his first adult novel.
Previous Books:
Yuletide Blues, Thistledown Press, novel, 1991.
The Blue Camaro, Thistledown Press, short fiction, 1994.
The Crying Jesus, Thistledown Press, short fiction, 1997.
The Sins of St. Dave, Playwrights Union of Canada, play, 1998.
Revved, Thistledown Press, short fiction, 2002.
Feeding at Nine, Thistledown Press, short fiction, 2006.
Apart (w. Wendy MacIntyre), Groundwood Press, novel, 2007

  • Winner Saskatchewan Book Awards Children’s Literature for Feeding at Nine: 2007. (Also nominated for Fiction Award.)
  • Winner
  • Saskatchewan Centennial Medal of Honour for work in Literary Arts: 2005.
  • Winner Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild Short Manuscript Award for “The Rink”: 2004.
  • Winner Saskatchewan Book Awards Saskatoon Book Award for The Crying Jesus: 1998. (Also nominated for Children’s Literature Award.)
  • Winner Canadian Library Association Young Adult Book of the Year for Takes: 1997.
  • Winner Saskatchewan Book Awards Publishing in Education Award for Takes: 1996.
  • Winner Vicky Metcalf Award for Short Fiction for ”The Rink”: 1993.
  • Winner Best Educational Documentary at Saskatchewan Film and Video Showcase for A Room Full of Men: 1992.

of 8


Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field

Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.