has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Doubleday Canada Fall 2020

more
  • Other Formats

    9780385694230 Paperback / softback, Trade paperback (US), $19.95 9781400026944 Paperback / softback, Mass market (rack) paperback, $11.99 9780385694223 EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Feb 09, 2021 Carton Quantity: 24
  • Catalogues

The Burning Girls
By (author): C. J. Tudor
C. J. Tudor

Imprint:

Doubleday Canada

ISBN:

9780385694216

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Feb 09, 2021
$22.00 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9.2in x 6.1 x 0.9 in | 0.94 lb

Page Count:

352 pages
Doubleday Canada
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
An unconventional vicar must exorcise the dark past of a remote village haunted by death and disappearances in this explosive and unsettling thriller from the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man.

A dark history lingers in Chapel Croft. Five hundred years ago, Protestant martyrs were betrayed—then burned. Thirty years ago, two teenage girls disappeared without a trace. And a few weeks ago, the vicar of the local parish hanged himself in the nave of the church.

Reverend Jack Brooks, a single parent with a fourteen-year-old daughter and a heavy conscience, arrives in the village hoping for a fresh start. Instead, Jack finds a town rife with conspiracies and secrets, and is greeted with a strange welcome package: an exorcism kit and a note that warns, “But there is nothing covered up that will not be revealed and hidden that will not be known.”

The more Jack and daughter, Flo, explore the town and get to know its strange denizens, the deeper they are drawn into the age-old rifts, mysteries and suspicions. And when Flo begins to see specters of girls ablaze, it becomes apparent there are ghosts here that refuse to be laid to rest.

Uncovering the truth can be deadly in a village with a bloody past, where everyone has something to hide and no one trusts an outsider.



Story Locale: England



    ACCLAIMED AUTHOR: C. J. Tudor’s first novel, The Chalk Man, won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel and was praised by writers like Stephen King, Lee Child, Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware. Kirkus and PW gave her second novel, The Hiding Place, rave reviews. And Harlan Coben has just offered glowing words of praise for her third book, The Other People, which will publish in January 2020.





    A FRESH TWIST ON PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE: C. J. Tudor’s novels add a touch of horror-inspired darkness to electrifying plots, offering an utterly satisfying but wholly original read for suspense readers sick of the familiar.





    THE QUEEN: Stephen King has said it himself: C. J.’s books are perfect for people who love his work! And as we know, King fans are aplenty. To all those readers desperate for their next thrilling, ingenious, twisty tale, we offer the exceptional C. J. Tudor.



C. J. TUDOR is the author of The Burning Girls, The Other People, The Hiding Place and The Chalk Man, which won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel, the Barry Award and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over artist and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn’t miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much. She lives in England with her partner and daughter.





Author Residence: Punnetts Town, England

Author Hometown: Salisbury, UK

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY WOMAN & HOME AND THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY

"Fans of Gillian Flynn, Tana French and Jess Lourey will leap at the chance to read Tudor's new psychological thriller. . . . Tudor is undeniably talented at producing a slow burn, weaving each piece of the story together to form a creepy yet satisfying conclusion. Jack is a relatable protagonist, stepping away from the stereotypical personality of a vicar by projecting a raw, yet still empathetic, exterior. Gruesome and haunting, The Burning Girls is worth every page turn. Readers will surely be eager for more." ?Booklist (starred review)

"[The Burning Girls is] definitely the best of Tudor's books to date, which says a lot. This is one talented author and her international reputation is well-deserved. . . . A great novel for a dark night in a snowstorm." —The Globe and Mail

"[Tudor] steadily cranks up the scares and the suspense while smoothly toggling between multiple narratives. . . . Readers will savor the final, breathless twists. Top-notch and deliciously creepy storytelling." —Kirkus Reviews

"C.J. Tudor tells really twisted tales, and does so brilliantly. . . . The Burning Girls is super creepy and quite the nifty mystery. . . . Do read it—and hope you don't sniff something unpleasant in the air." —Winnipeg Free Press

"Rarely have the secrets of an English village been used to greater effect than in this tautly suspenseful mystery from Thriller Award–winner Tudor. . . . The tension become[s] nearly unbearable. Tudor expertly doles out the plot twists . . . one so shocking that it turns the entire story inside out. Jack, Flo, and the other fully realized characters and their eventual fates won't be easily forgotten by any reader." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The kind of novel that's so creepy, it might just seep into your dreams." —PopSugar

"Tudor . . . strikes again with another thriller filled with twists and turns right up to the mind-bending ending." —Library Journal

"Tudor operates on the border between credulity and disbelief, creating an atmosphere of menace." —The Sunday Times

"Tudor's uncanny twisty plot is populated with intriguing, damaged characters and the slow-burning suspense leads to a crackling ending." —Minneapolis Star Tribune

"A breathless, brutal and brilliant read." —Woman & Home

"A mesmerising and atmospheric page-turner, with plenty of shocks and a surprise twist for a finale. Her best novel yet." —Sunday Express

of 17

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.