Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Steerforth Press, Fall 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781782273974 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $15.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AF AI AO AQ AR AW AX BF BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO EC EH ER ET FM FO GA GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HM HN HT KG KH KM KP KZ LA LI LR LU MC MD MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU PA PE PF PM PS PW PY RE RW SD SJ SM SN SR SS ST SV SX TD TF TG TJ TK TL TM UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AE AG AL AM AT AU AZ BA BB BD BE BG BH BM BN BS BW BZ CC CH CX CY CZ DE DK DM DZ EE EG ES FI FJ FK FR GB GD GE GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HK HR HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KI KN KR KW KY LB LC LK LS LT LV LY MA ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ OM PG PH PK PL PN PT QA RO RS RU SA SB SC SE SG SH SI SK SL SO SY SZ TC TH TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Sep 22, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $19.95 CAD
    $14.95 USD
  • Catalogues

The Peace Machine
By (author): Oezguer Mumcu Translated by: Mark David Wyers
9781782273981 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Science Fiction / Steampunk Sep 22, 2020
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.07 x 7.78 x 0.56 in | 0.41 lb 224 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Press
A thrilling historical adventure story from Turkey’s most daring young voice

We’ll create a machine. A peace machine that will put an end to all wars.

As the twentieth century dawns the world stands on the brink of yet another bloody war. But what if conflict were not inevitable? What if a machine could exploit the latest developments in electromagnetic science to influence people’s minds? And what if such a machine could put an end to violence for ever?

The search for the answer to these questions will lead our hero Celal away from his unassuming life as an Istanbul-based writer of erotic fiction, and on a quest across a continent stumbling headlong towards disaster, from Istanbul to Paris and Belgrade, as he struggles to uncover the mystery of The Peace Machine before time runs out for humanity.

Both a gripping historical adventure story in the tradition of Verne and Dumas and a powerful, important book for our times

A wonderfully original Ottoman steampunk atmosphere!

The author is a journalist and free speech activist in Turkey, working for the Cumhuriyet newspaper in Turkey, which has had many employees imprisoned for opposing the government

Rights sold in 5 languages

Özgür Mumcu is a Turkish author, free speech activist and journalist working for the Cumhuriyet newspaper in Turkey. In 2016 he accepted a Right Livelihood award on the newspaper’s behalf for its “fearless investigative journalism and commitment to freedom of expression in the face of oppression, censorship, imprisonment and death threats”. The Peace Machine is his first novel.

Author Residence: Turkey

Author Hometown: Turkey

Publicity: Widespread US publicity outreach including dedicated US mailing

DRC to be made available via NetGalley and Edelweiss

Additional social media publicity TBC

’A rollicking Ottoman steampunk adventure - full of wit, tongue-twisters and roguish escapism.’—Guardian

’A darkly funny absurdist romp.’— SFX

’Özgür Mumcu is one of the most essential voices writing in Turkey today and his novel, The Peace Machine, is a literary achievement as stunning as the very invention in its title.’—Elliot Ackerman, National Book Award Finalist and author of Dark at the Crossing

’A splendid Jules Verne-esque novel.’— Hurriyet

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.