Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Steerforth Press, Fall 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781782275213 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $18.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AF AI AO AQ AR AW AX BF BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO EC EH ER ET FM FO GA GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HM HN HT KG KH KM KP KZ LA LI LR LU MC MD MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU PA PE PF PM PS PW PY RE RW SD SJ SM SN SR SS ST SV SX TD TF TG TJ TK TL TM UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AE AG AL AM AT AU AZ BA BB BD BE BG BH BM BN BS BW BZ CC CH CX CY CZ DE DK DM DZ EE EG ES FI FJ FK FR GB GD GE GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HK HR HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KI KN KR KW KY LB LC LK LS LT LV LY MA ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ OM PG PH PK PL PN PT QA RO RS RU SA SB SC SE SG SH SI SK SL SO SY SZ TC TH TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Dec 08, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $22.95 CAD
    $16.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Memories of Low Tide
By (author): Chantal Thomas Translated by: Natasha Lehrer
9781782275206 Paperback, Trade English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women Dec 08, 2020
$22.95 CAD
Active 5 x 7.8 x 0.62 in | 0.42 lb 240 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Press
A memoir of childhood, the mother-daughter bond and the transformative power of swimming, by multi-award-winning French author Chantal Thomas

Chantal Thomas grew up in a seaside town on the Atlantic coast of France, inheriting from her mother an obsession with the sea, and for swimming. In this tender and eloquent memoir she seeks to understand her quixotic, often inscrutable mother - a woman who was luminous in the water and once dived into the moat of the Palace of Versailles, but became fettered by marriage and domestic life.

Thomas combs the beaches of her childhood for memories, recalling the sensory pleasures of the sands, the first sharp touch of cold water, and discovering the multitude of ways in which she is still her mother’s daughter.

Combines spectacular nature writing with deeply personal reflections on the mother-daughter bond, for fans of At the Pond, The Outrun, and Fierce Attachments

Chantal Thomas has won several major French awards, and her novel Farewell, My Queen was adapted into an acclaimed film

Chantal Thomas was raised at the seaside in Arcachon, near Bordeaux. She has taught literature in a number of American universities and is the author of over 20 books. She also works as a screenwriter. She won the Prix Femina for her novel Farewell, My Queen (2002), also adapted as a film by Benoit Jacquot, and later received the prestigious Roger-Caillois and Prince de Monaco prizes for her entire work.

Author Residence: Paris, France

Author Hometown: Arcachon, France

Publicity: Widespread US publicity outreach including dedicated US mailing

DRC to be made available via NetGalley and Edelweiss

Additional social media publicity TBC

   • “Wonderful…her descriptions are a kind of bottled perfection, of long days spent in the sea and sand”—Financial Times
   • ’In spare, elegant prose Thomas explores the stories we tell ourselves in order to survive.’—Joanna Pocock, Times Literary Supplement
   • “A story of inheritance, of the fluidity of a mother-daughter relationship dissolved in a calm sea, a kind of reverse amniotic fluid, in which to dive and luxuriate deliciously”—Marie Claire
   • “This is an infinitely gentle, oblique look at a whole century, passed through as a swimmer crosses the water, from one buoy to another…Haunting and elegiac”—Livres Hebdo
   • “Sublime…Delightful”—L’Express

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.