Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Steerforth Press, Fall 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781782274636 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $13.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AF AI AO AQ AR AW AX BF BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO EC EH ER ET FM FO GA GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HM HN HT KG KH KM KP KZ LA LI LR LU MC MD MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU PA PE PF PM PS PW PY RE RW SD SJ SM SN SR SS ST SV SX TD TF TG TJ TK TL TM UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AE AG AL AM AT AU AZ BA BB BD BE BG BH BM BN BS BW BZ CC CH CX CY CZ DE DK DM DZ EE EG ES FI FJ FK FR GB GD GE GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HK HR HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KI KN KR KW KY LB LC LK LS LT LV LY MA ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ OM PG PH PK PL PN PT QA RO RS RU SA SB SC SE SG SH SI SK SL SO SY SZ TC TH TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Oct 06, 2020 Carton Quantity:18 $19.95 CAD
    $14.95 USD
  • Catalogues

The Inspector of Strange and Unexplained Deaths
9781782276234 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical Oct 06, 2020
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.09 x 7.8 x 0.96 in | 0.58 lb 384 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Vertigo
Fans of Abir Mukherjee and Sarah Waters will love this gloriously macabre romp racing through the glitzy Versailles Palace by way of the shady criminal underworld of Paris on the brink of the revolution

Everyone has secrets. Especially the king.
When a gruesomely mutilated body is found on the squalid streets of Paris in 1759, the Inspector of Strange and Unexplained Deaths is called to the scene. The body count soon begins to rise and the Inspector is brought even further into a web of deceit that stretches from criminals, secret orders, revolutionaries and aristocrats to very top of society.
In the murky world of the court of King Louis XV, finding out the truth will prove to be anything but straightforward.

The first in an exciting new series of historical mysteries set in eighteenth-century France.

For fans of court intrigue, French history and secret societies

The author’s wry humour makes this an ideal book club pick. This will appeal to fans of Laura Shepherd-Robinson and Alex Reeve

Olivier Barde-Cabuçon is a French author and the creator of The Inspector of Strange and Unusual Deaths, who has featured in seven bestselling historical mysteries so far. The Inspector of Strange and Unusual Deaths won the Prix Sang d’Encre for crime fiction in 2012 and is the first of the series to be translated into English.

Author Residence: France

Author Hometown: France

Publicity: Widespread US publicity outreach including dedicated US mailing

DRC to be made available via NetGalley and Edelweiss

Additional social media publicity TBC

’A splendid mystery with an appealingly enigmatic protagonist, plenty of melodrama and intrigue, and a vivid, pungent evocation of a turbulent time.’— Guardian

’An entertaining introduction to the series…Barde-Cabuçon not only produces a satisfying mystery story but also successfully captures the febrile atmosphere of a society where the ancien régime is under threat from the emerging ideas of the Enlightenment.’— Sunday Times

’A racy historical mystery with real style, dash and brilliance…The inspector and Casanova carry the riveting story to an unexpected conclusion…Keeps the suspense at maximum level to the end.’—Crime Reviews

’A compelling thriller set in pre-revolutionary France with engaging characters that you are never entirely sure if you can trust - a CUB must read!’— CUB Magazine

’Rich with historical detail and macabre atmosphere…A story full of intrigue and secret societies.’—Culturefly

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.