Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2020 Trade

more
Afterlife Crisis
By (author): Randal Graham
9781770414709 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Fantasy / Humorous Detroit Sep 08, 2020
$22.95 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.5 x 1.01 in | 1.27 lb 440 pages ECW Press

For readers of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, and P.G. Wodehouse, and fans of The Good Place – a tongue in cheek fantasy that imagines Isaac Newton in the afterlife.

Where do you go after you die? Detroit.

“Finally, a hitchhiker's guide to the hereafter.” — Corey Redekop, author of Husk

Something’s rotten in the afterlife. At least that’s how it seems to Rhinnick Feynman, the one man who perceives that someone in the afterlife is tugging at history’s threads and retroactively unraveling the past. Doing his best to navigate a netherworld in which history won’t stop changing for the worse, Rhinnick sets off on a quest to put things right.

This would be a good deal easier if Rhinnick didn’t believe he was a character in a novel and that the Author was changing the past through editorial revision. And it’d be better if Rhinnick didn’t find himself facing off against Isaac Newton, Jack the Ripper, Ancient Egyptians, a pack of frenzied Napoleons, and the prophet Norm Stradamus. Come to think of it, it’d be nice if Rhinnick could manage to steer clear of the afterlife’s mental health establishment and a bevy of unexpected fiancées.

Undeterred by these terrors, Rhinnick recognizes himself as The Man the Hour Produced, and the only one equipped to outwit the forces of science and mental health.

Short Description


The afterlife adventures of Rhinnick Feynman, who believes that he’s a character in a novel written by an omnipotent Author. He also believes that the Author is changing the past through editorial revision, and for the worse. We’ll see Rhinnick square off against Isaac Newton, whose experiments threaten everyone in the hereafter.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • A standalone novel but set in the same world as Beforelife. In this installment, the main character squares off against Isaac Newton.

  • Randal Graham wrote this as a thought experiment centered on the question: how would humans behave in a world without constraints?

  • Beforelife won the gold medal for fantasy fiction at the Independent Publisher Book Awards and was longlisted for the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour.

  • “Debut novelist and law professor Graham has hit upon a clever and fruitful concept.” — Kirkus Reviews on Beforelife.


Audience



  • Graham’s students/former students, colleagues, and contacts at Western University

  • Fans of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, Monty Python, Christopher Moore, P.G. Wodehouse

  • Comic fantasy readers

  • Philosophy enthusiasts

  • Fans of the show The Good Place

Randal Graham is a law professor at Western University, where his teaching and research focus on ethics and legal language. His first novel, Beforelife, won the IPPY gold medal for fantasy fiction and was a top ten finalist for the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour. Graham’s books on law and legal theory have been assigned as mandatory reading at universities across Canada and have been cited by judges on all levels of court, including the Supreme Court of Canada and the U.S. Supreme Court. He lives in London, Ontario.

“Filled with wordplay to die for, Randal Graham’s latest dizzying, irresistible life-after-death satire tackles perennial existential questions with humor and hunger.” — Foreword Reviews

“Fans of wacky doings and zippy dialogue are sure to be entertained.” — Publishers Weekly

“When I worked with Randal Graham at the Goodmans law firm he showed few signs of zaniness, let alone P.G. Wodehouse on steroids. But zounds he shows all of the above and more in the story of Rhinnick and Vera. We are all better for The Other Side of Randal.” — Bob Rae, 21st Premier of Ontario and author of From Protest to Power

“Randal Graham has written an inventive and hilarious tale packed with such witty prose that P.G. Wodehouse is surely applauding from his own afterlife. Strap in for a wild and funny ride.” — Terry Fallis, two-time winner of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour

“Like Terry Pratchett’s Discworld and Douglas Adams’ entire Galaxy, the post-death realm of Randal Graham’s Detroit is a zany mélange of puns, incisive social commentary, dry wit, and more plot twists that you can reasonably waggle your stick at. I don’t claim to know what will happen after my expiration date, but considering how terrible real life is of late I dearly hope my afterlife will be as enjoyable as Detroit.” — Corey Redekop, author of Husk

of 29

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.