Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2020 Trade

more
One Good and Deadly Deed
A Sheriff Luke McWhorter Mystery
By (author): Dudley Lynch
9781770415003 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural Oct 06, 2020
$21.95 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.5 x 0.81 in | 0.77 lb 312 pages ECW Press

Bodies are piling up in Flagler. For fans of Bones and Preacher comes a sharp supernatural police procedural set in the heart of Texas.

It was not Luke McWhorter’s plan to become a law enforcement officer when he left for Yale Divinity School. But three generations of his family had worn the star, and after graduation, the needs of his community called him home to serve and protect. His theological training and his seventeen-year career as sheriff suddenly collide when bodies start piling up in Flagler, Texas. Two pilots are found brutally murdered in McWhorter’s hometown, torn to pieces by their own plane’s propeller, next to an ominous warning written in blood on the hanger wall.

In this fast-moving whodunit, McWhorter needs all the help he can get. He is joined by his chief deputy, Charles “Chuck” Del Emma; his FBI-agent girlfriend, Angie Steele; a precocious college student; and a 4,000-year-old mummy. Together, they tackle a crime spree that reaches all the way to the Middle East and back to the time of Noah’s Ark.

Short Description


Sheriff Luke McWhorter is back! Sheriff Luke must figure out what is causing bodies to pile up in the Texas town of Flagler after two pilots are found brutally murdered in McWhorter’s hometown, torn to pieces by their own plane’s propeller, next to an ominous warning written in blood on the hangar wall.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Perfect for readers of Lee Child and James Lee Burke and for fans of the television series Preacher and Bones.

  • “Lynch’s series debut offers a sharp, engaging hero and a mystery that amiably simmers.” — Kirkus Reviews on A Fragment Too Far

  • “An unusual lead, page-turning suspense, and a crackerjack plot help make this a winner . . . The X-Files fans will be eager for the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly on A Fragment Too Far


Audience



  • Readers of Lynch’s previous work

  • Readers of James Lee Burke

  • Fans of the television series Preacher

  • Detective mystery readers who enjoy supernatural plot twists


Dudley Lynch was born in Tennessee but raised in an oft-moving preacher’s family, mostly on the southern Great Plains. With two degrees in mass communications and religion, he has written hundreds of magazine articles, 16 non-fiction books, and the first Luke McWhorter novel, A Fragment Too Far. He lives in Gainesville, Florida.

“So you suspect that the real attraction of crime fiction isn’t the pow-pow plots but the chance to enjoy offbeat characters? If so, you’re likely to enjoy Luke McWhorter . . . Readers must relax expectations and enjoy the vaudeville of Luke’s adventures.” — Booklist

of 29

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.