Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2020 Trade

more
Cradle of the Deep
A Crime Novel
By (author): Dietrich Kalteis
9781770415263 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Crime British Columbia Nov 03, 2020
$19.95 CAD
Active 5 x 7.75 x 0.81 in | 0.57 lb 312 pages ECW Press

From “the heir-apparent to Elmore Leonard” (Crime Syndicate Magazine) comes a caper novel full of twists, hitmen, and loads of stolen cash.

Wanting to free herself from her boyfriend, aging gangster “Maddog” Palmieri, Bobbi Ricci concocts a misguided plan with Denny, Maddog’s ex-driver, a guy who’s bent on getting even with the gangster for the humiliating way in which he was sacked.

Helping themselves to the gangster’s secret money stash, along with his Cadillac, Bobbi and Denny slip out of town, expecting to lay low for a while before enjoying the spoils.

Realizing he’s been betrayed, an enraged Maddog calls in stone-cold killer Lee Trane. As Trane picks up their trail, plans quickly change for Bobbi and Denny, who now find themselves on a wild chase of misadventure through northern British Columbia and into Alaska.

Time is running out for them once they find out that Trane’s been sent to do away with them, or worse, bring them back — either way, Maddog will make them pay.

Short Description


A robbery, a car theft, a kidnapping — all lead to a temporary hideout in small-town British Columbia. The money, underwater in the trunk of a car, becomes the desired objective for some unexpected crooks.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • A fun caper novel that is entertaining all the way through.

  • Crime Syndicate Magazine has positioned Kalteis as “a man quickly becoming the heir-apparent to Elmore Leonard.”


Audience



  • Fans of John McFetridge, Don Winslow, Elmore Leonard

  • Crime and mystery readers who enjoy a fast-paced plot

  • Primarily men, 50+

  • Readers of Dieter’s previous books

Dietrich Kalteis is an award-winning author. Cradle of the Deep is his eighth published work. His debut, Ride the Lightning, was hailed as one of the best Vancouver crime novels. He lives on Canada’s west coast and spends as much time as possible in California.

“Pace, plot, characters, settings, action, humor, conflict, and a satisfying resolution. Big ticks in all the boxes.” — Col’s Criminal Library

Cradle of the Deep has humour, great characters, and the situations are well played — you’ll enjoy it.” — Murder in Common

of 29

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.