Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2020 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 11, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 01, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $22.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 11, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 01, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $17.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Once a Bitcoin Miner
Scandal and Turmoil in the Cryptocurrency Wild West
By (author): Ethan Lou
9781770415393 Paperback, Trade English General Trade BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Bitcoin & Cryptocurrencies Toronto Sep 01, 2021
$22.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.5 in 240 pages ECW Press

For readers of Bitcoin Billionaires comes a true tale of Bitcoin boom to bust.

When Ethan Lou’s early cryptocurrency investments pay off spectacularly, he leaves his job to build a blockchain start-up, riding into a nearly trillion-dollar frontier of open-bar pool parties, wealth-flaunting money giveaways, psychedelics, scams, scandal, and turmoil. He finds himself crossing paths with the likes of the late Gerald Cotten of QuadrigaCX and the Ethereum co-founder Anthony Di Iorio. Somehow, he ends up in North Korea, at the very conference at which the Ethereum computer scientist Virgil Griffith is accused by the FBI of breaking sanctions — and Ethan sees everything. Nothing lasts, calamity comes in waves, Bitcoin plunges. Overhead, vultures circle, and in the tall grass, lawmen lurk. Ethan and his fellows seek fortune and new beginnings amid the harsh unpredictability of their new world.

Once a Bitcoin Miner is accessible literary journalism, painstakingly researched through official records, interviews, and confidential files and sources. This richly told first-person narrative contains exclusive revelations and delves deep behind the scenes of major events from this prominent, yet shadowy domain.

Short Description


Part autobiography and part investigation, the book explains the opulence of Bitcoin’s late-2017 boom and the bleakness of the subsequent bust. We begin with scandal and conflict in Canada’s cryptocurrency Wild West and spiral outward, including on-the-ground access to the cryptocurrency scene in North Korea.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Once a Bitcoin Miner is a narrative for a general readership. It immerses outsiders in the cryptocurrency world but is light on technical discussion, and any tech explanations are woven into the storyline.

  • Lou has written for the Guardian, the Globe and Mail, Maclean’s, Maisonneuve, the South China Morning Post, The Walrus, and the Washington Post. He has served as a visiting journalist at the University of British Columbia.

  • He writes Ocuis, a cryptocurrency newsletter read weekly by thousands across North America.


Audience



  • People investing in cryptocurrency, or the crypto-curious

  • Readers of immersive personal accounts into worlds everyday people do not see such as The Dogs Are Eating Them Now (Knopf Canada, 2013), The Hillbilly Elegy (Harper, 2016)

  • People interested in the politics of North Korea

  • People interested in the Dark Web

  • Fans of investigative journalism

Ethan Lou’s writing has appeared in the Guardian, the Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, and the Washington Post. He is a former Reuters reporter and has served as a visiting journalist at the University of British Columbia. Ethan first bought Bitcoin in 2013. He splits his time between Toronto, Ontario, and Calgary, Alberta.

of 29

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.