Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

TouchWood Editions Fall 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Orphans of Empire
A Novel
By (author): Grant Buday
9781927366899 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Historical / General British Columbia Sep 29, 2020
$22.00 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.5 in 272 pages TouchWood Editions

"Meticulously researched and vividly drawn, Orphans of Empire brings to life the half-forgotten world of early British Columbia. This is an immersive, shimmering novel." —Steven Price, author of #1 nationally bestselling By Gaslight and Giller-shortlisted Lampedusa

In Grant Buday's new novel, three captivating stories intertwine at the site of the New Brighton Hotel on the shores of Burrard Inlet. In 1858 the serious and devoted Sir Richard Clement Moody receives the commission of a lifetime when he is sent to help establish "a second England"—what is now British Columbia. In 1865 Frisadie, an eighteen-year-old Kanaka housemaid, who is more entrepreneur than ingénue, arrives in New Brighton from Hawaii. She convinces Maxie Michaud to purchase the hotel with her, and it soon becomes the toast of the inlet. In 1885 Henry Fannin, a young, curious embalmer and magnetism devotee, having struck out in London and San Francisco, arrives in New Brighton and promptly falls in love with a tragic woman he hears crying on his first night at the hotel.

Endearing, funny, and highly evocative of time and place, Orphans of Empire celebrates those living in the shadow of history's supposed heroes, their private struggles and personal agendas. Readers who loved Michael Crummey's Galore and Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World, will love this vivid novel of arrivals that prods at the ethics of settlement.

Grant Buday is the author of the novels Dragonflies, White Lung, Sack of Teeth, Rootbound, The Delusionist, and Atomic Road, the memoir Stranger on a Strange Island, and the travel memoir Golden Goa. His novels have twice been nominated for the City of Vancouver book prize. His articles and essays have been published in Canadian magazines, and his short fiction has appeared in The Journey Prize Anthology and Best Canadian Short Stories. He lives on Mayne Island, British Columbia.

Media + Publicity:

  • National, regional, and subject-specific print features, recipes excerpts, and review coverage targeting Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, Shelf Awareness Readers, Booklist, Forward Reviews, Library Journal, Globe and Mail, Quill & Quire, Vancouver Sun, Georgia Straight, Broken Pencil, Malahat Review, subTerrain, Geist, CBC Books, BookForum, Book Page
  • broadcast and television interviews targeting CBC’s The Next Chapter, CBC’s On the Coast, CBC’s All Points West, CKNW’s Simi Sara Show
  • Outreach to markets and festivals such as Vancouver Writers Fest, Toronto International Festival of Authors, Sunshine Coast Festival of Authors, Galiano Writers Festival
  • Publicity and promotion in conjunction with author's speaking engagements
  • Blogger outreach, online ads and social media campaigns

Marketing + Promo:

  • National, regional, and subject-specific print features, excerpts and review coverage
  • Blogger outreach, online ads and social media campaigns
  • Publicity and promotion in conjunction with author's speaking engagements
  • Outreach to subject-specific organizations, markets and festivals
  • Festival appearances
  • Electronic and print ARCs
  • Excerpts available

Marketing + Promo Deliverables

  • Business cards
  • Electronic ARC
  • Online banner
  • Press release
  • Bookmark / postcard
  • Print ARC
  • Poster

BISAC Codes:

  • FIC014000      FICTION / Historical / General
  • HIS006000      HISTORY / Canada / General
  • ET034 CULTURAL HERITAGE / Canadian

BISAC Regional Themes

  • 4.0.2.0.2.0.0 British Columbia
  • 4.0.2.0.2.1.0 Vancouver

THEMA Codes

  • FV Historical Fiction
  • NHK History of the Americas
  • 1KBC-CA-BFB British Columbia South Coast: Lower Mainland
  • 3MNQ Later 19th century c 1850 to c 1899




For more information contact
[email protected]
of 6

Also Available

The Tinsmith Tim Bowling 9781926972435 $21.95 CAD Mar 06, 2012
This Godforsaken Place Cinda Gault 9781927366417 $17.95 CAD Jun 16, 2015
Anna, Like Thunder Peggy Herring 9781927366745 $22.00 CAD Apr 24, 2018

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.