Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Summer 2020 Highlights - Knopf, Doubleday, Appetite & Green Clients

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781524747848 Hardback, $25.95 CAD 9781524747855 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9781984846518 Downloadable audio file, $16.5 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AW AZ BA BF BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BV BY CD CF CG CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO DZ EC EG EH ER ET FM GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HK HM HN HT ID IL IR JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LR LY MA MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU OM PA PE PF PM PS PW PY QA RE RS RU SA SG SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AD AG AT AU AX BB BD BE BG BM BN BS BT BW BZ CC CH CM CX CY CZ DE DK DM EE ES FI FJ FK FO FR GB GD GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HR HU IE IM IN IO IQ IS IT JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LI LK LS LT LU LV MC MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ PG PK PL PN PT RO RW SB SC SD SE SH SI SJ SK SL SM SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VA VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Apr 17, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $21.95 CAD
    $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Walking
One Step At a Time
By (author): Erling Kagge Translated by: Becky L. Crook
9780525564492 Paperback, Trade English General Trade BODY, MIND & SPIRIT / Mindfulness & Meditation Apr 17, 2020
$21.95 CAD
Active 5.5 x 7.1 x 0.62 in | 0.58 lb 192 pages COLOR IMAGES THROUGHOUT Vintage
A lyrical account of an activity that is essential for our sanity, equilibrium, and well-being, from the author of Silence.

Placing one foot in front of the other, embarking on the journey of discovery, and experiencing the joy of exploration—these activities are intrinsic to our nature. Our ancestors travelled long distances on foot, gaining new experiences and learning from them. But as universal as walking is, each of us will experience it differently. For Erling Kagge, walking is the gateway to the questions that fascinate him—Why do we walk? Where do we walk from? What is our destination?—and in this book he invites us to investigate them along with him. Language reflects the idea that life is one single walk; the word “journey” comes from the distance we travel in the course of a day. Walking for Kagge is a natural accompaniment to science: the occasion for the unspoken dialogue of thinking. Walking is also the antidote to the speed at which we conduct our lives, to our insistence on rushing, on doing everything in a precipitous manner—walking is among the most radical things we can do.

AUTHORITY: Kagge has walked places few have: He was the first to reach the two poles (North and South), and he has also summited Everest. The New York Times calls him a philosophical adventurer or perhaps an “adventurous philosopher.”

PHYSICAL BOOK: Like Silence, the finished book will be gem-like: it will have a small trim with dozens of photos and paintings throughout. It will form a companion piece to Silence and have appeal as a object of art.

AUDIENCE: For readers of Outside Magazine, Cheryl Strayed, Michel Finkel’s The Stranger in the Woods.

Explorer, art collector, publisher, and author, Erling Kagge is the first person to have completed the Three Poles Challenge on foot—the North Pole, the South Pole, and the summit of Mount Everest. He has written six books on exploration, philosophy, and art collecting, and runs Kagge Forlag, a publishing company based in Oslo, where he lives.

Author Residence: Oslo, Norway

Marketing: Advertising:

National Print and Online Advertising

Academic Promotion and Advertising including: FYE Conference;FYE/Common Reading brochure



Publicity: Publicity:

Radio Satellite Tour

New in Paperback coverage

Features and Interviews

Social Media

“Simple, profound…compelling…it packs a surprisingly motivational punch…Kagge’s insights are sharp enough to slowly chip away at your skepticism, like a pickaxe working a block of ice.”—GQ

“Beautiful, flowing prose, as wise and soothing as the voice it suggests…part rumination, part walking coach and companion…”—New York Journal of Books
 
“If ever there were an expert on the topic, behold, here he is…Kagge’s wisdom offers salve and salvation”—Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Ambitious…Mr. Kagge’s lean, likeable style holds [Walking] together and makes for an enjoyable whirl of a read.”The Wall Street Journal

“Invigorating…”—The Scotsman

“[Kagge] challenges readers to take steps toward a better understanding of one’s self and finding a peaceful place in the scheme of life. Recommended for all libraries, especially collections on the environment. The poetic and inspirational words will remind readers of Henry David Thoreau’s work by the same name.”—Library Journal [starred]

“Candid…lyrical and sometimes philosophical…His awe and wonder are contagious…a perfect companion for those who seek mindfulness and meditation in their everyday lives.”—Booklist

“An homage to walking…Throughout this brief but eloquent meditation, the author makes a convincing case for the importance of walking. For him, walking is not simply taking a series of steps; it is something thrilling and amazing…  A thoughtful book-length essay on a taken-for-granted human activity…Fascinating.”—Kirkus Reviews

“It is much more subtle than a typical self-help tome…he uses his acquaintance with extreme environments to reflect on the mental and physical benefits of walking.”—The Economist

of 100

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.