Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

On-Sale Date Changes - Canadian Publishers

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781770499256 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 990L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Apr 14, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $21.99 CAD
    $17.99 USD
  • Catalogues

Lucy Crisp and the Vanishing House
By (author): Janet Hill
9781770499249 Hardcover English Young Adult : Age (years) from 12, Grade (US) from 7 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Wizards & Witches Apr 14, 2020
$21.99 CAD
Active 6.25 x 8 x 0.86 in | 1.36 lb 240 pages APPROX 35 COLOR SPOTS AND FULL PAGE PAINTINGS THROUGHOUT Tundra Books
After moving to a seemingly quaint and quiet new town, Lucy faces a new reality in which fairies exist, weather can be bottled and witches hold grudges. Accompanied by gorgeous color paintings, this novel is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, The Hazel Wood and Gregory Maguire.

It has been a year since Lucy Crisp graduated from high school and she still hasn’t found her calling. That is, until she discovers an exclusive arts college called Ladywyck Lodge. On a whim, she applies and is thrilled to be accepted into their program. Lucy moves to Esther Wren, the charming little town where it’s based, and stays in the house her father buys as an investment: a magnificent building built by a sea captain in 1876. The house has history and personality—perhaps too much personality…

Strange things start happening: Lucy hears voices and footsteps in empty rooms. She sees people and things that should not be there. Furniture disappears and elaborate desserts appear. What’s worse is that the strange events are not restricted to her house. Lucy begins to understand that the town and its inhabitants are hiding many secrets, and Ladywyck is at the heart. As the eerie happenings escalate, Lucy fears she is being threatened—but she is determined not to let fairy potions, spells and talk of witchcraft scare her away.

Janet Hill’s enchanting debut novel is part mystery, part supernatural thriller and all fun.

Story Locale: Upstate New York

FUN, QUIRKY STORY: This unique story is the perfect blend of magic and mystery. For fans of Miss Peregrine and Flavia de Luce.

STYLISH ART: Included throughout are about 50 color spots and full-page paintings in Janet’s trademark whimsical, retro-inspired style. Janet has a strong Etsy following for her artwork, and her paintings have been published in numerous magazines and can be found in personal collections all over the world.

CROSSOVER TITLE: The beautiful package and fun story will appeal to adults, especially those who loved Nancy Drew.

YEAR-LONG APPEAL: With witches, spells, and spookiness, there is an opportunity to repitch this book for the Halloween/fall category.

STRONG FEMALE CHARACTER: Lucy is a young woman learning to be independent and doesn’t rely on the men in her life to solve her problems.

BOOKSELLER CONNECTION: Janet’s partner, John, owns and runs the indie book store Fanfare in Stratford, Ontario.

JANET HILL is a painter and children’s book author/illustrator. Her work is both elegant and whimsical, and her painting style evokes a sense of nostalgia, mystery, and humor. She has written and illustrated two picture books: Miss Moon: Wise Words from a Dog Governess and Miss Mink: Life Lessons for a Cat Countess. Lucy Crisp and the Vanishing House is her first novel. Janet lives in Stratford, Ontario, where she paints in a small in-house studio and lives with her husband, John, the manager of an independent bookstore, and their cat and dog.

Author Residence: Stratford, Ontario

Marketing: Goodreads campaign

Influencer campaign

Amazon A+ content

Art Card

Good Witch business cards

Dedicated website

Deluxe media package available for account previews

Halloween promotions



Publicity: Pursue early review coverage

Pitch for Amazon vine

Pursue women’s magazine coverage for Janet Hill



Author Website: www.janethillstudio.com

Author Social Media: @janethillstudio

“Teens seeking a terror-free spine tingle are in for a treat.” —Kirkus Reviews


“A quirky combination of magic and ordinariness, of historic detail and imagination. Janet Hill adds beautiful colour illustrations throughout the text. The result is uniquely enchanting.”—Resource Links


“…An enchanting blend of mystery, supernatural investigation, and thriller, embellished by gorgeous colorful drawings peppered throughout.”Midwest Book Review


“Teenage readers are in for a treat.”Winnipeg Free Press

of 45

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.