Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

On-Sale Date Changes - Canadian Publishers

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780771062247 9780771007019 Downloadable audio file 9780771007163 Downloadable audio file, Library binding, 9780771062155 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:May 26, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $23.00 CAD
  • Catalogues

Strange Hotel
By (author): Eimear McBride
9780771062148 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Women May 26, 2020
$23.00 CAD
Active 5.41 x 8.02 x 0.51 in | 0.39 lb 160 pages McClelland & Stewart
From the multi-award-winning author of the literary phenomenon A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing, an exquisitely rendered and emotionally devastating meditation on love, loneliness, grief, and the possibilities for renewal.

A nameless woman enters a non-descript hotel room she’s been in once before, many years ago. Though the room hasn’t changed, she has, as have the dimensions of her life. As she goes on to occupy a series of hotel rooms around the world—each of which reflects back some aspect of herself—we begin to piece together the details of what transpires in these rooms, the rules of engagements she’s put in place for herself and the men she sometimes meets, and the outlines of the absence she is trying to forget. Gradually, we come to understand what it is the narrator seeks to contain within the anonymous rooms she is drawn to, and how she might become free.

Told in a mesmerizing voice that will beguile readers with its fierceness, vulnerability, honesty, and black humour, Strange Hotel immerses us in the currents of attraction, love, and grief. It is an immensely moving and ultimately revelatory exploration of one woman’s attempts to negotiate her own memories and impulses, and what it might mean to return home.

Story Locale: Avignon, Prague, Oslo, Auckland, Austin, London

AUDIENCE: For readers of Rachel Cusk’s Outline trilogy, Jenny Offill’s Dept. of Speculation, Ottessa Moshfegh’s My Year of Rest and Relaxation, Claire-Louise Bennett’s Pond, Max Porter’s Grief Is a Thing the Feathers, as well as fans of Sheila Heti, Elena Ferrante, and David Szalay.

ONE OF THE MOST ELECTRIFYING WRITERS AT WORK TODAY: McBride is also one of the most vital writers contributing to the larger cultural conversations about women’s desires and experiences.

MULTIPLE PRIZE-WINNING AUTHOR: Her debut novel won the Baileys Women’s Prize, the Goldsmiths Prize, the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award, The Desmond Elliott Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and was a finalist for the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Folio Prize.

EXCELLENT LITERARY CO-PUBLISHERS: FSG (US) and Faber and Faber (UK)

EIMEAR McBRIDE is the author of two novels: The Lesser Bohemians (James Tait Black Memorial Prize) and A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction, Irish Novel of the Year, the Goldsmiths Prize, and others). She was the inaugural creative fellow at the Beckett Research Centre, University of Reading and occasionally writes for The Guardian, TLS, New Statesman, and the Irish Times. She lives in London.

Author Residence: Norwich, UK

Author Hometown: Liverpool, UK

Marketing: Paid social advertising



Publicity: extensive ARC mailing to create buzz early

investigate with the US about bringing Eimear to North America

Pitch to festivals

Praise for Strange Hotel:

“This short, emotionally charged novel by the winner of the 2014 Women’s Prize For Fiction unfolds in funny, fierce prose; by its close, the future is beckoning hopefully.” —Eithne Farry, Event Magazine

“In Strange Hotel, a nameless woman’s voyage through a string of hotel rooms gradually reveals an inner world of striking tumult and depth, as her meditations draw her, and us, deeper into the unsettled tides of her own past. Eimear McBride has created a powerfully hypnotic novel of consciousness, one that traces the intricacies of thought and memory in prose so thrilling, so dagger-sharp, it makes the heart race.” Laura van den Berg, author of The Third Hotel

“No writer currently working excites me more than Eimear McBride—in her writing of the body, in her radical reimagining of the sentence, in her invention of new intimacies. Nothing else feels so fresh, so radically new. Strange Hotel challenges and expands my sense of what art can do. Each of McBride’s novels feels like an event not just in English-language literature but in the English language itself.” —Garth Greenwell, author of Cleanness and What Belongs to You

“Rich with mystery, complexity and seductive charm…. McBride [gives us] a beguiling, enigmatic heroine. Her short stays and brief flings provide tantalizing glimpses of who she is and how far she has traveled.” —StarTribune

“This new narrative is beautifully written. It is thoughtful, evocative, elegaic, honest and intelligent.” —Sharon Chisvin, Winnipeg Free Press

“The accretion of detail, of nuance, of language are at the heart of McBride’s work. And Strange Hotel, her third book, is a powerful demonstration of her ability to marshal words to peerless effect…. Strange Hotel is a finely controlled, complex and emotionally absorbing novel that manages to burrow deep into the heart of something essential about the human experiences of love and loss. That’s quite an achievement in so short a work.” —Carl Wilkinson, Financial Times

of 45

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.