Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Highlights Brochure – Clients OMNI – Fall 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781643854502 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $1.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Sep 08, 2020 Carton Quantity:32 $35.99 CAD
    $26.99 USD
  • Catalogues

It Will Just Be Us
A Novel
By (author): Jo Kaplan
9781643854496 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Horror Sep 08, 2020
$35.99 CAD
Active 6.33 x 9.51 x 0.98 in | 0.99 lb 272 pages Crooked Lane Books
A terrifying new gothic horror novel about two sisters and a haunted house that never sleeps, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

They say there’s a door in Wakefield that never opens…Sam Wakefield’s ancestral home, a decaying mansion built on the edge of a swamp, isn’t a place for children. Its labyrinthine halls, built by her mad ancestors, are filled with echoes of the past: ghosts and memories knotted together as one. In the presence of phantoms, it’s all Sam can do to disentangle past from present in her daily life.But when her pregnant sister Elizabeth moves in after a fight with her husband, something in the house shifts. Already navigating her tumultuous relationship with Elizabeth, Sam is even more unsettled by the appearance of a new ghost: a faceless boy who commits disturbing acts—threatening animals, terrorizing other children, and following Sam into the depths of the house wielding a knife. When it becomes clear the boy is connected to a locked, forgotten room, one which is never entered, Sam realizes this ghost is not like the others. This boy brings doom…As Elizabeth’s due date approaches, Sam must unravel the mysteries of Wakefield before her sister brings new life into a house marked by death. But as the faceless boy grows stronger, Sam will learn that some doors should stay closed—and some secrets are safer locked away forever.

HORROR IS BACK: Following the success of franchises like It: Chapter Two, audiences can’t get enough of supernatural thrillers. It Will Just Be Us is the perfect next read for fans of haunted house stories peppered with a splash of the Gothic.

FEMALE-POWERED: The horror and supernatural thriller genres are experiencing an influx of talented female authors, including Carmen Maria Machado and Damien Angelica Walters. Jo Kaplan is a rising star in the genre, making her work perfect for readers who are eager to see more stories written by, for, and featuring women.

HOUSE STRENGTH: Following the success of Little Darlings by Melanie Golding, we are confident in our ability to reach readers of supernatural suspense and horror.

Jo Kaplan writes and teaches in the Los Angeles area with much encouragement from her husband and two cats. Her fiction (as Joanna Parypinski) has appeared in Black Static, Nightmare Magazine, Haunted Nights edited by Ellen Datlow and Lisa Morton, New Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark edited by Jonathan Maberry, Vastarien, the Nightscript series, and publishers such as Independent Legions. She teaches English and creative writing at Glendale Community College, where she also plays cello in the GCC orchestra.

Author Residence: Glendale, CA

Publicity: National print publicity

ARCs and e-ARCs

Bookspan direct mail/e-mail campaign reaching 1.2 million readers

Giveaway: Crooked Lane, Author, Mystery Community sites, blogs, and social media

Featured title on MysteryGuild.com, MG Facebook, CrookedLaneBooks.com, and Crooked Lane’s Casebook newsletter

Promotion on author’s social media and newsletters

MS DUE DATE: AVAILABLE NOW

GALLEY DATE: MARCH 13, 2020

Praise for It Will Just Be Us:
“A rich, dense supernatural thriller…Horror fiction fans will also want to check this out.”
Publishers Weekly

“A fantastic ghost story…you should probably read during the day.“
Manhattan Book Review

“This novel is so clever and effortlessly atmospheric it deserves to find a wide audience beyond the traditional horror crowd…Highly recommended.”
HorrorDNA

”The plot rolls out like a swirling drain…Kaplan has concocted a miasma of insanity and witchery a la We Have Always Lived in the Castle.“
Fangoria

“Will leave you with chills.”
Fresh Fiction

“A Gothic horror world that would make Shirley Jackson proud…wholly original, and utterly absorbing.”
—Kathleen Kaufman, author of Hag and the Diabhal trilogy

”A chilling, poetic, modern Gothic masterpiece. Evocative and reflective, this is a story that haunted my imagination for many a night.“
 —John Palisano, Bram Stoker Award-Winning author of Ghost Heart

“Marvelously atmospheric, emphatically suspenseful and beautifully written, Jo Kaplan’s It Will Just Be Us had my full attention from its deliciously creepy first page and kept frightening me straight through to the end.”
—Laird Hunt, author of In the House in the Dark of the Woods

”This mysterious world sucks you in and keeps you turning pages.“
—Scott Kenemore, author of Zombie Ohio
 
”There are few new writing stars rising faster or shining brighter than Jo Kaplan…Beautifully hypnotic and eerie, this novel is a must-have for fans of the literary macabre.“
—Eric J. Guignard, author of That Which Grows Wild 

”Jo Kaplan channels Shirley Jackson adding her own depth and haunting style. The best haunted house novel I’ve read since Sarah Langan’s Audrey’s Door.“
 —Daniel Braum, author of The Night Marchers and Other Strange Tales

”Kaplan writes with extraordinary skill and authority, balancing the supernatural with the psychological…A vibrant, thrilling novel of family love and conflict.“
—S.P. Miskowski, author of I Wish I Was Like You

”It simmers with darkness and danger and kept me turning pages until late in the night. I loved it!"
—Damien Angelica Walters, author of The Dead Girls Club

“A truly chilling novel with an ending that will take your breath away. Mad Catherine’s house is (literally) the stuff of nightmares, and in Julian, Jo has created one of the most frightening characters I’ve come across since Gabe from Pet Semetary.”
—Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings

“A triumph of gothic fiction. Haunting and addictive, the evocative language leads the reader along a deliciously horrifying path to an ending we both dread and wait for with held breath. A must-read for horror fans.”
—Darcy Coates, USA Today Bestselling author of The Haunting of Ashburn House

of 556

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.