Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

May 2020 - Key PRHC Adult titles

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780593197769 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9780593215128 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AE AF AI AM AO AQ AR AW AZ BF BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV CD CF CG CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO DZ EC EG EH ER ET FM GA GE GF GN GP GQ GT GW HK HM HN HT ID IL IR JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LR LY MA MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU OM PA PE PM PS PW PY QA RE RU SA SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TW UY UZ VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AD AG AL AT AU AX BA BB BD BE BG BM BN BS BW BY BZ CC CH CM CX CY CZ DE DK DM EE ES FI FJ FK FO FR GB GD GG GH GI GL GM GR GS GY HR HU IE IM IN IO IQ IS IT JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LI LK LS LT LU LV MC MD ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ PF PG PK PL PN PT RO RS RW SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SO SZ TC TO TR TT TV TZ UA UG VA VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:May 26, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $23.00 CAD
    $17.00 USD
  • Catalogues

The Prisoner's Wife
By (author): Maggie Brookes
9780593197752 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Historical / World War II May 26, 2020
$23.00 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.2 x 1 in | 0.75 lb 400 pages Berkley
Inspired by the true story of a daring deception that plunges a courageous young woman deep into the horrors of a Nazi PoW camp to be with the man she loves.

In the dead of night, a Czech farm girl and a British soldier travel through the countryside. Izabela and prisoner-of-war Bill have secretly married, and are on the run, with Izzy dressed as a man. The young husband and wife evade capture for as long as possible, until they are cornered by Nazi soldiers with tracker dogs.

Izzy’s disguise works. The couple are assumed to be two escaped British soldiers and transported to a PoW camp. However, their true test has just begun as they face terrible living conditions and the constant terror of Izzy’s exposure. But in the midst of unimaginable horrors comes hope, for the young couple are befriended by a small group of fellow prisoners. These men become their new family, willing to risk their lives to save Izzy from being discovered and shot.

The Prisoner’s Wife tells of an incredible risk, and how our deepest bonds are tested in desperate times. Bill and Izzy’s is a story of love and survival, against the darkest odds.

BASED ON TRUE EVENTS: Brookes’ fictionalized account of Izabela’s brave deception is based on the true story of a Czech woman who disguised herself as a man to remain in the POW camps with her British husband.

FOR FANS OF WORLD WAR II NOVELS: WW II books based on real events and people are incredibly popular right now and this novel will appeal to fans of We Were the Lucky Ones and Lilac Girls.

LITTLE KNOWN HISTORY: Meticulously researched, The Prisoner’s Wife illuminates parts of WW II not often explored: the harrowing conditions in the POW and labor camps, and the close friendships that developed between the British soldiers—friendships that are crucial to keeping Izabela’s secret

RISKING IT ALL FOR LOVE:The Prisoner’s Wife offers a sweeping love story for the ages

BRITISH PUBLICATION:The Prisoner’s Wife is a lead title for Century at PRH UK and we’re publishing simultaneously with them.

Maggie Brookes is a British ex-journalist and BBC television producer turned poet and novelist. She is an advisory fellow for the Royal Literary Fund and also an Associate Professor at Middlesex University, London, England, where she has taught creative writing since 1990. She lives in London and Whitstable, Kent and is married, with two grown-up daughters. She has published five poetry collections in the UK under her married name of Maggie Butt.

Marketing: Pre-publication trade advertising

Extensive online advertising

ARC distribution and giveaways

IndieBound campaign

Pre-publication consumer outreach

Social media campaign

Influencer outreach

Consumer sweepstakes

Library marketing campaign

Book club promotions

Discussion guide bound in book

Book Club kit

E-mail marketing campaign

Feature on Read it Forward



Publicity: National radio publicity

National print publicity

National podcast interview campaign

Online publicity campaign

Blog campaign

“A powerful love story that exquisitely depicts the courage and strength of the human spirit in the face of the tremendous cost of war.”—Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Train to Key West, on The Prisoner’s Wife
 
More praise for The Prisoner’s Wife

“A powerful page-turner.”—Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of Lady Clementine
 
“You will be spellbound by this stellar debut.”—Susan Meissner, Bestselling author of The Last Year of the War
 
“Perhaps the most unique World War II story I’ve ever read…A complete winner.”—Sarah-Jane Stratford, Author of Red Letter Days

“Avid readers of stories about the Holocaust should be prepared to be awestruck by this portrayal of a seldom-shared aspect of the war…The Prisoner’s Wife is tale of epic proportions. It does not shrink from the cruelty of war which, in this telling, is offset only by the strength of love.”—The Jewish Voice and Opinion

“A heady mix of young passion, love, courage and hope in a dark world. I so hope that Bill and Izabella get away but this has captured me.”—Giles Kristian, author of Lancelot

“Based on the experiences of real people and real events, The Prisoner’s Wife seamlessly and skilfully breathes intense, fully realised life into the stark scenes it describes…I was by turns moved, outraged and humbled.”—Deborah Kay Davies, author of True Things About Me

“An engrossing, harrowing and heart-warming novel that reveals humanity at its best and worst.”—Ann Morgan, author of Reading The World

“An absorbing and engaging tale of wartime bravery and endurance. I loved it!”—Rachel Hore, author of Last Letter Home and The Memory Garden

“A story of danger, fear, determination and the redemptive power of love in war-torn Europe. Maggie Brooke’s extensive research and novelist’s sensitivity have succeeded in bringing a previously hidden story into the light.”—Juliet Gardiner, author of Wartime; Britain 1939 to 1945 and The Blitz; The British Under Attack.

“Heart wrenching and heart-warming in equal measure…an unputdownable novel”—Ben Kane, author of The Eagles of Rome series

’When a debut is praised by the likes of Jojo Moyes, you know it’s worth reading…You won’t be able to put down this tender and heartbreaking read.“—Judith Allnat, author of The Poet’s Wife and The Silk Factory

”A gripping debut novel…I feel enriched to have read it.“—Gill Paul, author of The Lost Daughter and The Secret Wife

”Tremendous…this is much more than a love story; it’s about the instinct for survival, the value of friends, and the power of hope even in the midst of terror."—Georgina Clarke, author of Death and the Harlot

“This is a remarkable story…. Most of all, The Prisoner’s Wife is a story of endurance.”—San Diego Jewish World


“This heartrending tale of hope reaches through the pages, reminding readers that with love and friendship even the darkest and most unbearable nights will eventually end. While The Prisoner’s Wife is a love story, it is also a narrative about humanity’s intrepid drive to survive, even when it seems that all hope is lost.”—Hearst Connecticut Media

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.