Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Paper & Ink Recommended Titles July to Sept 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780593118481 9780593125700 9780593126349 9780525645597 Hardback, Library binding, , $28.99 CAD 9780525645603 Electronic book text, EPUB 9780525645580 Hardback, $24.99 CAD
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: HL730L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IR IS IT JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BT BW BZ CC CM CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO IQ JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN RW SB SC SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Jun 02, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $14.99 CAD
    $10.99 USD
  • Catalogues

Wilder Girls
By (author): Rory Power
9780525645610 Paperback, Trade English Young Adult : Age (years) from 14, Grade (US) from 9 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Girls & Women Jun 02, 2020
$14.99 CAD
Active 5.56 x 8.19 x 0.84 in | 0.69 lb 400 pages Random House Children's Books Ember
 
Pennsylvania Keystone State Reading Association Book Award 2020, Nominated
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

“The perfect kind of story for our current era.”Hypable

From the author of Burn Our Bodies Down, a feminist Lord of the Flies about three best friends living in quarantine at their island boarding school, and the lengths they go to uncover the truth of their confinement when one disappears. This fresh debut is a mind-bending novel unlike anything you’ve read before.

It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.

It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

And don’t miss Rory Power’s second novel, Burn Our Bodies Down!

Praise for Wilder Girls:

4 STARRED REVIEWS!

“Take Annihilation, add a dash of Contagion, set it at an all-girls’ academy, and you’ll arrive at Rory Power’s occasionally shocking and always gripping Wilder Girls.Refinery29

“This thrilling saga…is sure to be one of the season’s most talked-about books, in any genre.”EW

“Fresh and horrible and beautiful….readers will be consumed and altered by Wilder Girls.”NPR

Story Locale: unspecified time, Island off the Eastern coast of the U.S.

This paperback will include a stepback and bonus material, including a discussion guide, map of Raxter Island, author/editor Q&A, deleted scene, and teaser chapter of Rory’s new novel, Burn Our Bodies Down, which pubs a month later.

A highly acclaimed, accessible yet thought-provoking novel that is both a page-turning commercial read and a literary conversation starter. A great book to pair with Lord of the Flies.

A feminist title that will appeal to this generation of teen girls and their mothers. Perfect for book clubs.

Contains themes of questioning authority, friendship and loyalty, and self-reliance, this book is a powerful, layered crossover read.

Rory Power grew up in Boston, received her undergraduate degree at Middlebury College, and went on to earn an MA in prose fiction from the University of East Anglia. She lives in Massachusetts. She is the New York Times bestselling author of Wilder Girls and Burn Our Bodies Down. To learn more about Rory, go to itsrorypower.com and follow @itsrorypower on Twitter and Instagram.

Author Residence: Providence, RI

Author Hometown: Massachusets

Author Website: itsrorypower.com

Author Social Media: @itsrorypower on Twitter and Instagram

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

“Power’s evocative, haunting, and occasionally gruesome debut will challenge readers to ignore its bewitching presence.” Booklist, starred review

★ “This gritty, lush debut chronicling psychological and environmental tipping points…weaves a chilling narrative that disrupts readers’ expectations through an expertly crafted, slow-burn reveal of the deadly consequences of climate change….Part survival thriller, part post-apocalyptic romance, and part ecocritical feminist manifesto, a staggering gut punch of a book.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

An ode to empowering women and a testament to the strength of female bonds….Far more than just an unsettling horror story, this powerful debut novel about a strange disease at an all-girls boarding school explores female empowerment, friendship and survival with tenacity and brilliance.” Shelf Awareness, starred review

Electric prose, compelling relationships, and visceral horror illuminate Power’s incisive debut…[and  its] environmental and feminist themes are resonant, particularly the immeasurable costs of experimentation on female bodies, and the power of female solidarity and resilience amid ecological and political turmoil.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

Tightly coiled narration moves between quietly reserved to vividly but coldly detailed, doubling the horror.” Bulletin

Your new favorite book.” Cosmopolitan

“Everything about this thrilling, unnerving debut will make you want to immediately read it. For fans of Mindy McGinnis and Gillian French.” —Paste

Wilder Girls is so sharp and packs so much emotion in such wise ways. I’m convinced we’re about to witness the emergence of a major new literary star.” —Jeff VanderMeer, author of the New York Times bestseller Annihilation

“Wilder Girls is the bold, imaginative, emotionally wrenching horror novel of my dreams—one that celebrates the resilience of girls and the earthshaking power of their friendships. An eerie, unforgettable triumph.” —Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

A nightmarish survival story that’s as much literary fiction as it is young adult…I couldn’t look away.“ Casey McQuiston, New York Times bestselling author of Red, White, and Royal Blue

”The eeriness of Raxter Island permeates every scene, and Rory Power’s characters are fierce and honest, blazing from the pages. This is a groundbreaking speculative story—brutal and beautiful, raw and unflinching. I adored this book.“ —Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

”A feminist, LGBT+, sci-fi-horror story with all the tantalizing elements of gore, mystery, war, and love you can ask for. Real, flawed, brave girls against a world gone mad. A shudderingly good read!” —Dawn Kurtagich, author of Teeth in the Mist

of 78

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.