Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Paper & Ink Recommended Titles July to Sept 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780525621690 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $23 CAD 9780593210673 Downloadable audio file 9780525621683 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SE SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CM CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SD SG SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Aug 11, 2020 Carton Quantity:12 $36.00 CAD
    $27.00 USD
  • Catalogues

We Are All the Same in the Dark
A Novel
By (author): Julia Heaberlin
9780525621676 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense Aug 11, 2020
$36.00 CAD
Active 6.41 x 9.52 x 1.12 in | 1.25 lb 352 pages Ballantine Ballantine Books
The discovery of a girl abandoned by the side of the road threatens to unearth the long-buried secrets of a Texas town’s legendary cold case in this superb, atmospheric novel from the internationally bestselling author of Black-Eyed Susans.

It’s been a decade since Trumanell Branson disappeared, leaving only a bloody handprint behind. Her pretty face still hangs like a watchful queen on the posters on the walls of the town’s Baptist church, the police station, and in the high school. They all promise the same thing: We will find you. Meanwhile, her brother, Wyatt, lives as a pariah in the desolation of the old family house, cleared of wrongdoing by the police but tried and sentenced in the court of public opinion and in a new documentary about the crime.

When Wyatt finds a lost girl dumped in a field of dandelions, making silent wishes, he believes she is a sign. The town’s youngest cop, Odette Tucker, believes she is a catalyst that will ignite a seething town still waiting for its own missing girl to come home. But Odette can’t look away. She shares a wound that won’t close with the mute, one-eyed mystery girl. And she is haunted by her own history with the missing Tru.

Desperate to solve both cases, Odette fights to save the lost girl in the present and to dig up the shocking truth about a fateful night in the past—the night her friend disappeared, the night that inspired her to become a cop, the night that wrote them all a role in the town’s dark, violent mythology.

In this twisty psychological thriller, Julia Heaberlin paints unforgettable portraits of a woman and a girl who redefine perceptions of physical beauty and strength.

Story Locale: Rural Texas

TEXAS LORE: The rural Texas setting is the perfect backdrop for Odette’s haunting discoveries; a place where brutal crimes can occur—and be erased.

ACCLAIMED AUTHOR: Heaberlin combines beautiful, lyrical prose with tense, thrilling psychological suspense for a read that will appeal to fans of Laura Lippman, Tana French, or Gillian Flynn. Her writing has been called “masterful” (The Washington Post), “brilliant” (Sophie Hannah), and “artful” (Publishers Weekly in a starred review). Paper Ghosts was a finalist for the ITW Thriller Award for Best Hardcover Novel.

Paper Ghosts has been sold to AMC for a limited television series.

CRITICAL ACCLAIM: Heaberlin’s Black-Eyed Susans was a USA Today bestseller and hit #2 on the Times of London bestseller list. It garnered rave reviews from The Times (UK), The Washington Post, and The Boston Globe. It was one of Good Housekeeping’s best books of the summer in 2016, as well as a Goodreads Book of the Month and a LibraryReads top ten pick. Paper Ghosts received a starred review from Publishers Weekly and other rave reviews from The Washington Post, The Guardian, Sunday Times (Thriller of the Month), and D Magazine (“Texas has yet again bred a major American noir writer.”)

Julia Heaberlin is the author of the critically acclaimed Black-Eyed Susans, a USA Today and Times (U.K.) bestseller. Her psychological thrillers, which also include Paper Ghosts, Playing Dead, and Lie Still, have been sold in more than twenty countries. Heaberlin is an award-winning journalist who has worked at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, The Detroit News, and The Dallas Morning News. She grew up in Texas and lives with her family near Dallas/Fort Worth, where she is at work on her next novel.

Author Residence: Grapevine, TX

Author Hometown: Elgin, IL

Publicity: National/local review and feature print attention

Online review and feature attention

Local author promotion: Texas

Targeted blogger outreach



Author Website: juliaheaberlin.com

Author Social Media: FB: on.fb.me/1YGf1W2 // TW: bit.ly/1KHQJBz

“Tense, darkly atmospheric …Gracefully written, with characters that leap off the page and into your imagination, this takes your breath away with its sudden twists.”Daily Mail

“We Are All the Same in the Dark succeeds because Heaberlin is working on three levels—offering a fast-paced thriller centered around Angel and a slow-burning mystery focused on Trumanell, while never losing sight of her characters’ humanity.”Texas Monthly

“Elegant prose, headstrong heroines, and gorgeously wrought Texas atmosphere…a splendid ride with a jaw-dropper of a twist in the middle.”—NJ online

“The author of Black-Eyed Susans returns with an elegantly written tale, set in a world where women are vulnerable and men are dangerous, the finger of suspicion pointing at them all.”Daily Express (UK)

“[Julia Heaberlin] once again brilliantly captures the atmosphere and rough beauty of a strange and divided state.”CrimeReads

“Exceptional …After a devastating twist halfway through, the intense plot builds to an emotional finale. Heaberlin sensitively addresses issues of survival and vulnerability in this heart-wrenching gothic tale.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“One of my favorite reads of the year…[Heaberlin’s] beautiful prose propelled me through this spine-chilling novel….The book is absolutely mesmerizing.”—Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence

“I loved this book: gorgeous writing, interesting characters, a unique setting, and an unsettling, surprising mystery. Everyone needs to put this book on their to-be-read list right now!”—Amy Engel, bestselling author of The Familiar Dark

“A gripping, richly layered exploration of haunted souls in a haunted place…a story that keeps you guessing at every turn.”—Lou Berney, author of November Road

One of the best standalone mysteries I’ve read in a while…thrilling and complex, with richly imagined characters who will break your heart even as they confront the monsters, real and imagined, that hide in the dark.”Kathleen Kent, author of The Burn and the Edgar finalist The Dime

“Unsettling and atmospheric…tense and edgy…Julia Heaberlin holds you spellbound all the way to the emotional and devastating conclusion.”—Lesley Kara, internationally bestselling author of The Rumor
 
“An intense, intelligent thrill-ride of a book—undoubtedly the one I will be recommending all year.”—Elizabeth Haynes, New York Times bestselling author of Into the Darkest Corner
 
“Raw, stunning, both otherworldly and lapel-grabbing, this is the book to grab when you need something to grab you. Julia Heaberlin has written a tour de force.”—Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder and The Butterfly Girl

of 78

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.