Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Paper & Ink Recommended Titles July to Sept 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780525542391 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $23 CAD 9780525542407 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9780593211984 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AE AF AI AM AO AQ AR AW AZ BF BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV CD CF CG CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO DZ EC EG EH ER ET FM GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HK HM HN HT ID IL IR JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LR LY MA MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX MY NC NE NF NI NU OM PA PE PF PM PS PW PY QA RE RW SA SG SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UY UZ VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AD AG AL AT AU AX BA BB BD BE BG BM BN BS BW BY BZ CC CH CM CX CY CZ DE DK DM EE ES FI FJ FK FO FR GB GD GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HR HU IE IM IN IO IQ IS IT JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LI LK LS LT LU LV MC MD ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ PG PK PL PN PT RO RS RU SB SC SD SE SH SI SJ SK SL SM SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UA UG VA VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Jul 21, 2020 Carton Quantity:12 $36.00 CAD
    $27.00 USD
  • Catalogues

The Daughters of Foxcote Manor
By (author): Eve Chase
9780525542384 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Women Jul 21, 2020
$36.00 CAD
Active 6.19 x 9.38 x 1.26 in | 1.26 lb 368 pages Putnam G.P. Putnam's Sons
THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER, “A captivating mystery: beautifully written, with a rich sense of place, a cast of memorable characters, and lots of deep, dark secrets.”—Kate Morton, New York Times bestselling author of The Clockmaker’s Daughter

 

“Extraordinary…Absolutely her best yet.”—Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author of The Family Upstairs

 

Three generations. Three daughters. One house of secrets.




The truth can shatter everything . . .

When the Harrington family discovers an abandoned baby deep in the woods, they decide to keep her a secret and raise her as their own.



But within days a body is found in the grounds of their house and their perfect new family implodes.



Years later, Sylvie, seeking answers to nagging questions about her life, is drawn into the wild beautiful woods where nothing is quite what it seems.



Will she unearth the truth?



And dare she reveal it?

 

(Published in the UK as The Glass House

 

The Daughters of Foxcote Manor is not really about a murder, or a creepy house, but about families - the ones we’re born into, the ones we make and especially the ones we flee.”—The New York Times

 

One of the New York Times “Novels of Suspense and Isolation”

One of The Washington Posts’ Best New Audiobooks

One of Bustle’s Most Anticipated Books of Summer

One of PopSugar’s Best Books of July

One of New York Posts Best Books of the Week




Story Locale: London and Gloucestershire, England (the Forest of Dean)

ON-TREND WOMEN’S FICTION: Readers who love Fiona Davis, Kate Morton, and Jennifer McMahon will all enjoy Eve Chase’s richly atmospheric historical fiction, and the suspenseful present-day mystery will thrill fans of Lisa Jewell.

BIGGEST STORY IDEA YET: This third book from Chase has the delicious atmosphere she’s become known for, but offers a fresh and gripping hook: an abandoned baby found in the woods, destined to transform a troubled family—and lead to a murder. This is Chase’s biggest idea yet, the one to grow her audience, and we’re using her successful paperback packaging to inform a new hardcover jacket direction.

AUTHOR WE CAN GROW: Chase’s first two books have been highly praised—with blurbs from Kate Morton, Lisa Jewell, Fiona Davis, Clare Mackintosh, Megan Miranda, and more—and received fantastic publicity. With a fourth book under contract to follow The Daughters of Foxcote Manor, we have an investment in Chase and an opportunity to continue growing her avid readership.

BOOK CLUB APPEAL: This is an ideal pick for book clubs and readers interested in mother/daughter relationships and generational divides, marriage, divorce, class differences, teenage rebellion, affairs, and family secrets, and we expect the novel to have a long life.

Eve Chase is the author of Black Rabbit Hall and The Wildling Sisters, and the pseudonym of journalist and novelist Polly Williams. She lives in Oxford, England with her husband and three children.

Author Residence: England

Author Hometown: England

Marketing: National print publicity



Online publicity campaign



Pitch author op-eds and essays



Pre-publication trade advertising



Online advertising



Pre-publication consumer outreach



Social media campaign



Bookstagram campaign



Backlist promotions



Consumer sweepstakes



Book club promotions



Discussion guide available online



EveChase.com



Facebook.com/EveChaseAuthor



Twitter.com/EvePollyChase



Instagram.com/EvePollyChase



 

Author Website: evechase.com

Author Social Media: facebook.com/evechaseauthor; twitter.com/evepollychase; instagram.com/evepollychase

“Chase parcels out her clues slowly, without a hint of showiness. In the end, The Daughters of Foxcote Manor is not really about a murder, or a creepy house, but about families—the ones we’re born into, the ones we make and especially the ones we flee.” The New York Times

“Like Lisa Jewell’s The Family Upstairs and Ruth Ware‘s The Death of Mrs. Westaway, Chase takes a haunted house and exposes its ghosts, all those things that were hoped to stay hidden in the walls…A compelling story about how the secrets we hide from one another in order to protect actually can cause more harm than good, but thankfully, fate always has a way of interceding.“ Paperback Paris

”A captivating mystery: beautifully written, with a rich sense of place, a cast of memorable characters, and lots of deep, dark secrets.”
—Kate Morton, author of The Clockmaker’s Daughter

“Eve Chase is an extraordinary writer and The Daughters of Foxcote Manor is absolutely her best yet. No one creates families as complex, loveable and utterly believable as Chase and she is the master of the dual time frame narrative.”
—Lisa Jewell, author of The Family Upstairs

“Eve Chase is right up there with Tana French and Sarah Waters as an author who writes page-turning masterpieces that meld a vibrant sense of place with a heartbreaking cast of characters. I devoured her latest, and will be recommending it to everyone I know. Her plot twists floored me, and this haunting story will stay with me for a very long time.”
—Fiona Davis, author of The Chelsea Girls

“I adored this beautifully-written, riveting mystery. Chase is peerless in her ability to stitch together dark secrets and tantalizing twists with unforgettable characters and enthralling imagery. I am a die-hard fan!” 
—Rosie Walsh, author oGhosted

“Gothic mystery The Daughters of Foxcote Manor by Eve Chase alternates between the past and the present to tell a story of mothers and daughters that’s as chilling as it is moving.” PopSugar

“[An] atmospheric mystery…Ample foreboding and evocative prose propel things to a gratifying close. Gothic suspense fans will be delighted.” Publishers Weekly

“Chase deftly constructs a shadowy puzzle…A delicious mystery full of dark labyrinthine curves.” Kirkus Reviews 

“Exploring family dynamics by using alternating timelines, Chase captivates readers, especially fans of Kate Morton, with eloquent prose and sympathetic characters.” Booklist

“Set in mysterious and witchy woods, The Daughters of Foxcote Manor is the perfect read for mystery lovers who prefer thrills without gore and violence.” BookPage

“Eve Chase’s novels are about glamorous families with tragic pasts, set in wonderful locations. Her writing is rich and her stories full of dreamy mystery…This gorgeous meditation on motherhood is one of my favourite reads so far this year.” Daily Mail

“This wonderfully evocative mystery chronicles the relationships among three mothers and their daughters and the secrets they’ve buried.” Minneapolis Star Tribune

“In The Daughters of Foxcote Manor, Eve Chase brings readers a richly crafted set of characters, and then places them in a delightfully decrepit house sitting in an eerie forest with a dark atmosphere…Told in chapters then and now, the past slowly creeps into the future, and the lives of the characters intertwine intricately, leaving readers with a sense of awe. This book is a pleasure and a thrill. The marvelous discoveries unfold right up to the last page, where the perfect ending resides.” —BookReporter.com

“Chase’s mastery of language is impressive, and her concrete images pack a considerable punch with their freshness and emotional resonance…A web of intricate threads links characters in both timelines, leading to a satisfying ending. Sure to please fans of Kate Morton and Diane Setterfield.” Historical Novels Review

“Devilishly atmospheric…Chase builds a narrative laden with twists rendered so cleverly that readers likely will not foresee them. She does so with deeply formed characters, a setting guaranteed to evoke unease and prose that amplifies the ominous events. But Chase does not stop with an engaging tale. Her portrait of mothers and daughters…delves intensely into connections that can be as fraught as those between fathers and sons. With profound but restrained passion typical of Britons, Chase creates a rewarding, disturbing tale of transgressions of commission and omission, with a measure of redemption born of her innate decency and empathy.” Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Utterly captivating, this is a glorious dream of a novel - an irresistible story of family secrets, beautifully written.”
—Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair

“Bewitching and beguiling…. As suspenseful as the mistress of psychological drama, Daphne Du Maurier. Chase is simply brilliant.” —Veronica Henry, author of How to Find Love in a Bookshop

"I adored The Daughters of Foxcote Manor by Eve Chase. Sublime writing, secrets, lovable characters I didn’t want to leave, and a ripping twisting plot that kept me guessing. An absolute jewel of a book.” —Dinah Jefferies, author of The Sapphire Widow

“If you like your mysteries atmospheric then I highly recommend The Daughters of Foxcote Manor…Beautiful, transportive writing.” —Erin Kelly, author of We Know You Know and He Said She Said 

“I just love Eve Chase’s lyrical writing and evocative sense of place. The Daughters of Foxcote Manor is her best yet…A treat.” —Louise Candlish, bestselling author of Our House 

“So beautifully and insightfully written, with characters I grew to love populating a compelling, moving story that kept me turning the pages right to the very last. Chase handles the various unexpected ways our earliest experiences shape and define us with huge empathy and sensitivity. It’s an evocative and engrossing read.” —Katherine Webb, author of The Legacy

“Evocative and beautifully written The Daughters of Foxcote Manor sucked me into a mystery as atmospheric and densely packed with secrets as the forest in which it’s set.” —Rachel Rhys, author of Fatal Inheritance

“Rich, gripping, intriguing, beautifully written, diving deep into emotional truths, The Daughters of Foxcote Manor is an assured and lovely novel” —Elizabeth Buchan, author of Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman

of 78

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.