Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Steerforth Press, Fall 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781782275916 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $17.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AF AI AO AQ AR AW AX BF BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO EC EH ER ET FM FO GA GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HM HN HT KG KH KM KP KZ LA LI LR LU MC MD MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU PA PE PF PM PS PW PY RE RW SD SJ SM SN SR SS ST SV SX TD TF TG TJ TK TL TM UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AE AG AL AM AT AU AZ BA BB BD BE BG BH BM BN BS BW BZ CC CH CX CY CZ DE DK DM DZ EE EG ES FI FJ FK FR GB GD GE GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HK HR HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KI KN KR KW KY LB LC LK LS LT LV LY MA ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ OM PG PH PK PL PN PT QA RO RS RU SA SB SC SE SG SH SI SK SL SO SY SZ TC TH TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Aug 25, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $21.95 CAD
    $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Spark
By (author): Naoki Matayoshi Translated by: Alison Watts
9781782275909 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Humorous / General Aug 25, 2020
$21.95 CAD
Active 5.11 x 7.83 x 0.45 in | 0.31 lb 160 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Press
Hilarious, strange and moving in equal measure - a Japanese multi-million-copy smash hit about the struggles of a pair of young manzai stand-up comedians

Tokunaga is a young comedian struggling to make a name for himself when he is taken under the wing of Kamiya, who is either a crazy genius or perhaps just crazy. Kamiya’s indestructible confidence inspires Tokunaga, but it also makes him doubt the limits of his own talent, and dedication to Manzai comedy.

Spark is a story about art and friendship, about countless bizarre drunken conversations and how far it’s acceptable to go for a laugh. A novel about comedy that’s as moving and thoughtful as it is funny, it’s already been a sensation in Japan.

A phenomenal success in Japan: won the country’s most prestigious literary prize, sold more than 3 million copies and has been adapted for manga, stage, film and TV - the series is available now on Netflix

’Builds on the current interest in Japanese literature - for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Pushkin’s Japanese novella series

The author is a manzai comedian himself, and will be a brilliant subject for media profiles

Naoki Matayoshi is a Japanese manzai comedian and author, who found fame performing as part of the popular comic duo Peace. Spark is his first novel and has been hugely successful in Japan since it was first published in 2016. It has won the Akutagawa Prize and was adapted for film, stage and TV - the hit series is available on Netflix.

Author Residence: Osaka (Japan)

Author Hometown: Osaka (Japan)

Publicity: Widespread US publicity outreach including dedicated US mailing

DRC to be made available via NetGalley and Edelweiss

Additional social media publicity TBC

’A whip-smart tale that’ll prove impossible to put down’ Vogue

’Edgy…the familiar story of the apprentice surpassing his master’ Sunday Times

’Excels as a comedy of the absurd…a Japanese Withnail and I…Immensely satisfying’ Japan Society

’The seedy side of Tokyo is summoned up in tale about a comedy duo and the awkward bonds of men…Spark does the city credit’ Financial Times

’Irresistible. A painfully sensitive rendering of the reality for young manzai comedians…The writing is wonderful’ Akio Nakamori

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.