has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Dundurn Winter 2021

more
  • Other Formats

    9781459744899 EPUB, $6.99 CAD 9781459744882 PDF, $20.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail (CA)

    Distributor: UTP Distribution Supplies to: CA Availability: Available On Sale Date: Mar 09, 2021 Carton Quantity: 40 $20.99 CAD
  • Supply Detail (GB US)

    Distributor: Ingram Publisher Services Supplies to: GB US Availability: Available On Sale Date: Apr 06, 2021 Carton Quantity: 40 $17.99 USD
    $13.99 GBP
  • Catalogues

Starr Sign
The Candace Starr Series
By (author): C.S. O'Cinneide

ISBN:

9781459744875

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Mar 09, 2021
$20.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5 x 1 in | 250 gr

Page Count:

304 pages
Dundurn Press
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Crime and mystery: hard-boiled crime, noir fiction|Crime and mystery: women sleuths|Detroit|Relating to bisexuals or pansexuals
Candace Starr goes searching for her mother in the Detroit mob — but infiltrating her own crime family may be her deadliest assignment ever.

Candace Starr has fallen on hard times since she helped her friend, Detective Malone, with a murder case last year. These days, she trades on her dark celebrity as a former contract killer to keep the wolf from the door and her glass full of scotch whisky. When her teenage half-sister, Janet, shows up, Candace finds herself responsible for more than her nightly bar bill. Their mercurial mother, Angela, has gone missing while visiting her estranged family of Detroit mobsters, and Candace needs to track her down to take the kid off her hands. But the vicious Scarpello clan is hiding far more than her mother’s whereabouts.

With help from harmless British hacker Hardeep “Deep” Bains, Candace must take on her ruthless relatives while keeping Malone in the dark and Janet out of harm’s way. Witty, gritty, and full of cocky hard-edged flair, the well-buried secrets of Candace’s mob family tree are unearthed, laying bare the roots of her own identity along the way.

Story locale: Detroit

  • A hard-boiled mystery for fans of Marvel’s Jessica Jones, Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski novels, and Wallace Stroby’s Crissa Stone series
  • Caustic, hard-drinking former hitwoman Candace Starr teams up with ambitious homicide detective Chien-Shiung Malone to solve murders, while Starr chases ghosts from her past
  • Author hosts a book blog called She Kills Lit, where she interviews and reviews books by female-identifying authors of thriller and noir fiction
  • Author’s debut novel Petra’s Ghost was nominated for a 2019 Goodreads Choice Award


C.S. O'Cinneide is the author of Petra’s Ghost and the Candace Starr series. Her short stories have appeared in both anthologies and magazines. She lives in Guelph, Ontario.

  • Consumer, trade, and wholesaler advertising campaign
  • Social media campaign and online advertising targeted to mystery readers
  • Newsletter campaign to consumers, librarians, and booksellers
  • Sample chapter reveal
  • Publicity campaign to targeted media and influencers
  • Digital galley available: NetGalley, Edelweiss, Catalist
  • STAY CONNECTED
  • Series Hashtag: #CandaceStarr
  • Author website: shekillslit.com
  • Author Twitter: @shekillslit
  • Author Facebook: @OcinneideCS


For more information contact
[email protected]

Tough-talking, hard-drinking Candace Starr’s appealingly amoral worldview coupled with her vast range of eccentric acquaintances and family is sure to provide more murderous fun as the series develops. - Publishers Weekly, for The Starr Sting Scale

O’Cinneide gets this quirky series off to a fine start, and Candace is just the kind of oddly charismatic character to keep it going in high style. - Booklist, for The Starr Sting Scale

Candace's wryly amusing take on events is perfectly balanced with scenes of chilling action. Fans of Lawrence Block's burglar Bernie Rhodenbarr will have fun. - Publishers Weekly

Hard-boiled humour meets high-octane action in this superb crime noir novel set in the underbelly of Detroit. C.S. O'Cinneide's razor-sharp wit and taut writing bring to life the incomparable Candace Starr in this second installment in the Candace Starr series. Prepare to be swept up in a twisted tale of sisterhood, mob hijinks, and unexpected love that will leave you pining for more! - Erin Ruddy, author of Tell Me My Name

This novel is full of action, lots of creative and sharp-edged dialogue, a clever plot, and a satisfying ending. A must-read for thriller readers. - The Miramichi Reader

This is assured prose in the hands of a masterful storyteller, taking the reader effortlessly from the mansions of the very rich to the seedy sex-trafficking brothels where gangsters go to let their guard down. - Bookish

A clever plot delivered with dry wit by a reluctant hero you can't help cheering for. - Mike Finn's Fiction

of 18

Also Available

The Starr Sting Scale C.S. O'Cinneide 9781459744844 $20.99 CAD Feb 15, 2020
Petra's Ghost C.S. O'Cinneide 9781459744684 $21.99 CAD Jul 20, 2019

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.