has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Juvenile & YA Fiction on NetGalley

more
I Do Not Like Yolanda
By (author): Zoey Abbott
Zoey Abbott

Imprint:

Tundra Books

ISBN:

9780735266513

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 3 - 7, Grade (US) P - 2
Mar 16, 2021
$21.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

11.25in x 8.88 x 0.42 in | 1.01 lb

Page Count:

44 pages

Illustrations:

FULL COLOR THROUGHOUT
Tundra Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Strangers
Bianca likes stamps and writing letters and going to the post office…she does not like Yolanda, who works there. A relatable story about facing your fears and giving people a second chance for fans of Miss Nelson Is Missing and My Teacher is a Monster.

When Bianca gets stuck in Yolanda’s line at the post office, she expects the worst: scowls, claws, teeth…

This is what she gets for having a five-letter day.

She might not survive…

Or will Yolanda surprise her?

This hilarious story explores fear and kindness, in that order, when Bianca decides to overcome her terror and ask Yolanda very nicely how her weekend was…and learns that Yolanda is not scary, she’s a delight! A truly lovely book about questioning your assumptions and reaching out to another person, no matter how scary they might be.

EMPATHY: Bianca is kind to Yolanda, and as a result, makes a new friend. A great celebration of empathy, community, bravery and different perspectives.

HILARIOUS NEW VOICE: This is Zoey Abbott’s first foray into writing for children—she has illustrated other picture books, but not her own.

POST OFFICE SETTING: A perennial topic for schools and libraries.

KID FRIENDLY: The story captures kid logic and language flawlessly.

ADORABLE ART: The art perfectly reflects the humor and the tension.

ZOEY ABBOTT is a graduate in Women’s Studies and History from Smith College. She spent four years living and painting in Japan. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband, kids and a large dog named Carrots.

Author Residence: Portland, Oregon

Author Website: www.zoeydraws.com

Author Social Media: (Instagram): @zoey.abbott

“A book that will inspire readers to find their own pen pals, a good book, and a new friend.” —STARRED REVIEW, School Library Journal

"Young readers will get caught up in the illustrations, and the idiosyncratic friendship may grow on them. This offbeat, intergenerational story celebrates connection." —Kirkus Reviews

I Do Not Like Yolanda is stamped with quirky details within recognizable experiences. It’s a true original.” —Imaginary Elevators

of 439

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.