has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Juvenile & YA Fiction on NetGalley

more
  • Other Formats

    9780735265998 Fixed format, EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: AD530L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Apr 13, 2021 Carton Quantity: 24
  • Catalogues

Tough Like Mum
By (author): Lana Button Illustrated by: Carmen Mok
Lana Button ,

Illustrated by :

Carmen Mok

Imprint:

Tundra Books

ISBN:

9780735265981

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 3 - 7, Grade (US) P - 2
Apr 13, 2021
$21.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9.25in x 8.63 x 0.43 in | 0.79 lb

Page Count:

32 pages

Illustrations:

FULL COLOR THROUGHOUT
Tundra Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Homelessness & Poverty
 
SCBWI Crystal Kite Award 2022, Winner
What does it mean to be tough? Kim finds out in this moving mother-daughter story about family hardship, vulnerability and love, perfect for fans of Dolly Parton’s Coat of Many Colors.

Kim’s mum is tough. Everyone says so. She can deal with unruly customers at the Red Rooster with a snap of her fingers.

Kim is tough, too. She doesn’t need to wear a hat to keep her ears warm. And she can make soup all by herself, even without the stove.

Kim and her mum are tough.

But Kim is learning that sometimes toughness doesn’t look like what you’d expect.

In this tender exploration of a mother-daughter relationship, Kim and her mother learn that in order to support and truly take care of each other, they need to be tough—and that sometimes being tough means showing vulnerability and asking for help.

ECONOMIC DIVERSITY: Kim and her single mom live on the edge—in the story, the power has been shut off in their apartment, and Jen has to sign the form that allows Kim’s school trip to be paid for.

TIMELY MESSAGE: Tough doesn’t mean hard—toughness can mean vulnerability and honesty.

ENGAGING ART: Carmen Mok’s art is the perfect complement to this story of adversity—the pleasing design of her characters keep the story from being overwhelming.

GREAT INSTITUTIONAL APPEAL: This book will allow teachers and librarians to introduce economic diversity and empathy to children.

ADVOCATE: Lana Button is a teacher herself and has been a strong advocate for students with previous books addressing bullying and shyness.

LANA BUTTON was born in the tiny town of St. Stephen, New Brunswick. She trained in theater, performing on TV, film and stage, and now works in early childhood education. Lana is the author of numerous books for children including Willow’s Whispers and What if Bunny’s NOT a Bully? Lana and her husband live in Burlington, Ontario, with their dog and their cat, and they have three amazing daughters who are all grown up, but will thankfully still listen to picture books.

Author Residence: Toronto, ON

Author Hometown: St. Stephen, NB

CARMEN MOK is an award-winning illustrator with prior experience in product design, hand-lettering and graphic design. After studying studio art at University of Waterloo and design at Sheridan College, she decided to dedicate herself to children's illustration. She is the illustrator of Grandmother's Visit, written by Betty Quan, and Waiting for Sophie, written by Sarah Ellis. Grandmother's Visit was selected as the picture book honor title of the 2018-2019 Asian/Pacific American Award, and made the 2019 short list for the IODE Ontario Jean Throop Book Award. Carmen lives in St. Catharines, Ontario.

Illustrator Residence: St Catharines, ON

Author Website: www.lanabutton.com / www.carmenmokstudio.com

Author Social Media: @lanabutton (Twitter) / @carmenmokstudio (Instagram)

One of CCBC’s Best Books for Kids and Teens, Fall 2021
A Canadian Children's Book Centre Favourite Book of the Year (2021)


“Powerful in its vulnerability.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Mok offers simple, carefully shaded gouache and colored-pencil art, underlining this sensitive portrayal of the bond between one mother and child navigating difficult circumstances and whether to welcome help.” —Publishers Weekly

"Powerful stuff." —Wall Street Journal

"This tender tale imparts that asking for help shows toughness, too." —New York Times

“Lana Button gently explores the pressures that kids feel when they have to take on the roles that the adults in their lives can’t.” —Globe and Mail

“Readers should come away from the story realizing that staying ‘tough’ is not the only answer.” —Horn Book

of 439

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.