Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

October 2020 Key Titles (Adult)

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780385695480 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9780385696593 Downloadable audio file, $22.95 CAD 9780385696609 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Oct 27, 2020 Carton Quantity:24 $22.95 CAD
    $16.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Waiting for a Star to Fall
A Novel
By (author): Kerry Clare
9780385695473 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Women Oct 27, 2020
$22.95 CAD
Active 5.52 x 8.23 x 0.74 in | 0.65 lb 288 pages Doubleday Canada
“A love story at its core, though one without an ending written in the stars…. Timely and insightful.”—Karma Brown, #1 bestselling author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife

For fans of Joanne Ramos, Josie Silver, and Emily Giffin, a gripping and powerful story that asks: Just how much are you willing to forgive in the name of love?


Brooke has long been caught in the orbit of Derek, a rising political superstar. First he was her boss, then they were friends and she became his confidant, the one person he shared everything with. And even though she had feelings for him—it was hard to resist; he’s charming and handsome, respected and beloved—she never dreamed he’d feel the same way. Derek is so much older and could have anyone he wanted.

But it turns out that who Derek wants is Brooke, and suddenly none of the reasons they shouldn’t be together matter. They fall in love. And even though Brooke has to keep the relationship a secret—stealing weekends away with him, late nights with takeout after long days at work, and business trips that are always a romantic whirlwind—being close to him and her dreams of their future make everything worth it.

Then it all falls apart, and Brooke is left holding the pieces of the life they’d shared. Derek becomes embroiled in a scandal—the kind Brooke never could have imagined he’d be involved in—and she is forced to re-examine their relationship and make sense of the man she loves.

Poignant, heart-stopping, and resonant, Waiting for a Star to Fall is a story about love, the things we choose to believe, and how sometimes the path to happily ever after has to start with ourselves.

TOPICAL: A product of the #MeToo movement, this book is incredibly topical, thoughtful and fresh. It dives into the perspective of someone we often read about, yet are rarely given close access to: the partner of the accused. We’ve likely all wondered about the women who are with men accused of doing horrible things—How do they feel? When the rallying cry is “believe victims,” do these women? Or are they torn? What about feminism? Kerry illustrates this tension, this contradiction, in a nuanced and relatable way.

SWEET SPOT: This book hits that perfect sweet spot between literary and commercial. Kerry pairs biting social observation with an unputdownable pace and sparkling prose to give us upmarket women’s fiction at its best.

WELL-CONNECTED: As a respected book reviewer, Kerry is very well connected within the Canadian literary scene. We can likely call upon some of her contacts for blurbs, reviews and more.

KERRY CLARE is an author, editor and book reviewer. Her first novel, Mitzi Bytes, was called “entertaining, engaging and timely” by the Toronto Star, who also noted that it “heralds the arrival of a fantastic, fun new novelist on the Canadian scene.” She is the editor of The M Word: Conversations About Motherhood, which was published in 2014 to rave reviews, and in 2018 of selected stories for The Journey Prize Stories 30 with Sharon Bala and Zoey Leigh Peterson. A National Magazine Award-nominated essayist, Kerry is also editor of the Canadian books website 49thShelf.com, and writes about books and reading at her popular blog, Pickle Me This. She lives in Toronto with her family.

Author Residence: Toronto, ON

Marketing: Pre-pub—

Multi-influencer cover reveal

Goodreads advertising

Focus of Penguin Random House Canada and Doubleday Canada social media accounts and newsletters



On-sale—

Paid social advertising

Google Search/Display ads

Goodreads author recommends mailer pending blurbs

Focus of Penguin Random House Canada and Doubleday Canada social media accounts and newsletters





US Plans:

Wide ARC distribution (eGalleys available)

Goodreads promotion (pre-publication)

Social media campaign targeting fans of Reese Witherspoon’s book club authors

Pitch for reviews in trade outlets including PWBooklist, and Kirkus

National review mailing to book editors at outlets such as New York Times, LA Times, People.com and AP 



Author Website: picklemethis.com

Author Social Media: Twitter and Instagram: @KerryReads

“Subtly complex, this romantic drama is tailor-made for the #Metoo age.” —Montreal Gazette

“[Kerry Clare] leads us through the rocky terrain where politics and sex collide in this #MeToo era. . . . Waiting for a Star to Fall may be both a cautionary tale and a basis for understanding, especially if somebody you know—a sister, a daughter, a roommate, a friend or possibly yourself—has ever been caught up in a dubious relationship…. I read it in a day, and I’ve been thinking about it ever since.” —Toronto Star

“Kerry Clare’s Waiting for a Star to Fall is a love story at its core, though one without an ending written in the stars. It’s about what we believe—and who we believe—and it reveals that we each control our own happiness and destiny. Timely and insightful, Clare has crafted a worthy successor to her memorable debut Mitzi Bytes.” —Karma Brown, #1 bestselling author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife
 
“Kerry Clare has done something spectacular: She’s written a riveting #MeToo novel that is a nuanced celebration of the complexity of human nature. I read it in one morning and will be thinking about it for a long time to come.” —Lauren Mechling, author of How Could She

“Girl falls hard for charismatic, older man. It’s heady and intoxicating. Then he turns out not to be who she thought he was. Like, at all. This is a thrillingly sexy book about that first big, bad love, and the pain of seeing someone for who they really are. Kerry Clare writes about the dark heart of women with a deceptively light touch, one that belies a complexity just below the surface. A diverting and compassionate read.” —Lisa Gabriele, author of The Winters 
 
“Timely and entertaining on the surface—but crack through to its core and discover a deep and thought-provoking meditation on the flaws and foibles of humanity. This book is beautifully, brutally honest, reminded me of being 23, made me forgive myself my lapses in judgment—and, made me long for whatever Kerry Clare will write next. Fans of Emily Giffin and Curtis Sittenfeld take note: This is your next read.” —Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of The Last Resort

“A skillfully told story for our times, Waiting for a Star to Fall takes readers on an emotional journey. Clare’s expert handling of this all-too-familiar yet difficult subject is sure to spark meaningful book club discussions.” —Chantel Guertin, author of the Pippa Greene novels
 
“When Kerry Clare’s Waiting for a Star to Fall landed on my desk, I could not restrain myself and read the entire novel that same day. Taking a now familiar story as her starting point—famous man pummeled by sexual assault allegations—she ventures beyond the headlines, into terrain news stories can’t cover. What gives these mediocre men their outsized confidence? Why do they act with so little regard for others and how do they keep getting away with it? Searching for answers, Clare turns the spotlight on her women characters, the ones who are hurt by these men even as they continue to enable them. A deft examination of power, complicity and accountability, Waiting for a Star to Fall is thoroughly engrossing. Clever and insightful, this book is a sheer delight.” —Sharon Bala, author of The Boat People

“I’m in awe of Kerry Clare’s tender, imaginative care for the characters in Waiting for a Star to Fall. I was right there with them, viscerally in the moment with all their best and worst ideas, especially with Brooke, hoping for what she hoped for even when I worried about the outcome. Such a fully realized, fascinating, enthralling world Clare has created—I was completely enraptured.” —Rebecca Rosenblum, author of So Much Love
 
Waiting for a Star to Fall is the novel we need at this moment: a wonderfully sharp and humane examination of power and betrayal, love and limits. Kerry Clare has told one woman’s story, but many of us will recognize ourselves in this rich portrait.” —Elizabeth Renzetti, Globe and Mail columnist and author of Shrewed: A Wry and Closely Observed Look at the Lives of Women and Girls

“Kerry Clare knows how to tell gripping, nuanced, sharp stories that are rooted in real life. But with Waiting for a Star to Fall, she goes even deeper, digging into the complexities of real life and all the mess, missteps, and mistakes that come with carving your own path to happiness. Timely, insightful, and skillfully written, this memorable story is about love, forgiveness, and deciding your own destiny.” —Nicole Blades, author of Have You Met Nora?

of 85

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.