Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Black History Month

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781788739078 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $13.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UY UZ VA VC VE VG VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Mar 16, 2021 Carton Quantity:60 $33.95 CAD
    $24.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Elegy for Mary Turner
An Illustrated Account of a Lynching
By (author): Rachel Marie-Crane Williams Introduction by: Mariame Kaba Afterword by: Julie Armstrong Afterword by: C. Tyrone Forehand
9781788739047 Paperback, Trade English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional / African American & Black Mar 16, 2021
$33.95 CAD
Active 6.05 x 9.19 x 0.27 in | 0.46 lb 80 pages Verso Books Verso
A lyrical and haunting depiction of American racial violence and lynching, evoked through stunning full-color artwork

In late May 1918 in Valdosta, Georgia, ten Black men and one Black woman—Mary Turner, eight months pregnant at the time—were lynched and tortured by mobs of white citizens.

Through hauntingly detailed full-color artwork and collage, Elegy for Mary Turner names those who were killed, identifies the killers, and evokes a landscape in which the NAACP investigated the crimes when the state would not and a time when white citizens baked pies and flocked to see Black corpses while Black people fought to make their lives—and their mourning—matter.

Included are contributions from C. Tyrone Forehand, great-grandnephew of Mary and Hayes Turner, whose family has long campaigned for the deaths to be remembered; abolitionist activist and educator Mariame Kaba, reflecting on the violence visited on Black women’s bodies; and historian Julie Buckner Armstrong, who opens a window onto the broader scale of lynching’s terror in American history.

Evocative full-color artwork, including lithographs, hand-painted lettering, and collages of historical letters and news clippings

Introduction from the family of Mary Turner who have struggled to have their relative’s deaths commemorated in Georgia

An illustration of the powerful role art can play in thinking about historical and political violence

Author Rachel Marie-Crane Williams is a long-time activist working with incarcerated women, and a respected scholar and artist who combines art, education, and scholarship to further social justice

For readers of Claudia Rankine, Eve Ewing, Hilton Als, and Teju Cole, who use visual art to help describe American racism and violence visited on black bodies

Rachel Marie-Crane Williams is an artist and teacher, currently an Associate Professor at the University of Iowa in Art and Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality Studies. Her work as a researcher and creative scholar has always been focused on women’s issues, community, art, and people who are incarcerated. She has worked with incarcerated women since 1994. Her scholarship—both graphic and textual—has been published by the Jane Addams Hull House Museum, The Journal of Cultural Research in Art Education, and The International Journal of Comic Art, The Journal of Correctional Education, The Journal of Arts Management, Law, and Society, The Journal of Art Education, and Visual Arts Research.

Author Residence: Iowa City, Iowa

Author Hometown: Iowa City, Iowa

Marketing: Digital advertising

Academic marketing campaign

Library marketing campaign

E-galleys available

Sales at book fairs and academic conferences

Digital marketing and giveaways



Publicity: Major launch in New York with high profile supporters

Radio and podcast interviews

Op-ed in national outlet

Reviews in national newspapers

Reviews and interviews in lefty magazines

Interviews and reviews in black cultural outlets

Interviews, excerpts and reviews in feminist outlets

Reviews in American history journals

“In this particular historical moment when young Black people are engaged in a renewed struggle against state violence, Mary Turner’s story resonates. She insists that we #SayHerName too.”
—Mariame Kaba, founder and director of Project NIA, from the introduction

“Harrowing … This succinct work confronts readers with atrocity, in a necessary tribute.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Retells the story [of Mary Turner’s murder] in a manner at once unflinching, and, at turns, delicate. The delicacy is owed to Williams’ rendering.”
—Rosalind Bentley, Atlanta Journal-Constitution

of 135

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.