Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Fiction titles on NetGalley

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781782274438 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AF AI AO AQ AR AW AX BF BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO EC EH ER ET FM FO GA GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HM HN HT KG KH KM KP KZ LA LI LR LU MC MD MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU PA PE PF PM PS PW PY RE RW SD SJ SM SN SR SS ST SV SX TD TF TG TJ TK TL TM UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AE AG AL AM AT AU AZ BA BB BD BE BG BH BM BN BS BW BZ CC CH CX CY CZ DE DK DM DZ EE EG ES FI FJ FK FR GB GD GE GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HK HR HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KI KN KR KW KY LB LC LK LS LT LV LY MA ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ OM PG PH PK PL PN PT QA RO RS RU SA SB SC SE SG SH SI SK SL SO SY SZ TC TH TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Mar 09, 2021 Carton Quantity:24 $22.95 CAD
    $16.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Red Dog
By (author): Willem Anker Translated by: Michiel Heyns
9781782274230 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Mar 09, 2021
$22.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.07 x 7.78 x 1.08 in | 0.76 lb 432 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Press
A blistering, brutal novel of the South African frontier from a major new literary voice

In the eighteenth century, a giant strides the border of the Cape Colony frontier. Coenraad de Buys is a legend, a polygamist, a swindler and a big talker; a rebel who fights with Xhosa chieftains against the Boers and British; the fierce patriarch of a sprawling mixed-race family with a veritable tribe of followers; a savage enemy and a loyal ally. Like the wild dogs who are always at his heels, he roams the shifting landscape of southern Africa, hungry and spoiling for a fight.

Red Dog is a brilliant, fiercely powerful novel - a wild, epic tale of Africa in a time before boundaries between cultures and peoples were fixed, based on the life of a real historical figure.

Longlisted for the International Booker Prize, and winner of six major South African prizes, this is the author’s first book in English

A fiercely intelligent and unsparingly brutal ’African Western’, for fans of The North Water and Blood Meridian

Willem Anker was born in Citrusdal in the Western Cape in 1979 and lectures in creative writing at Stellenbosch University. His first novel, Siegfried, was published in 2007. Red Dog was published in Afrikaans in 2014 and won six major literary prizes in South Africa. It is his first novel to be translated into English.

Author Residence: South Africa

Author Hometown: Citrusdal, South Africa

Publicity: Widespread US publicity outreach including dedicated US mailing

DRC to be made available via NetGalley and Edelweiss

Additional social media publicity TBC

Longlisted for the 2020 International Booker Prize

The Booker judges call Red Dog ’a novel of serpentine, swashbuckling sentences that capture the mounting cruelty of the colonial project.’

’Sensational…Anker writes like a talented demon’ Antonia Senior, The Times, Historical Fiction Book of the Month

’One of the best antiheroes you will read this year leaps from the pages’ The Times Best Summer Books

’Ambitious…brings South Africa’s bloody birth to life’ Spectator

’A powerful and stark historical novel…A twenty-first century story in the vein of Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness…This staggeringly original blend of fact and fiction is savage but totally gripping’ NB Magazine

’The hottest piece of writing out here…a highly readable and relentless tale…passionately nihilistic with inserts of great noir humour and even sometimes truly moving tenderness’ Marlene van Niekerk

’The Afrikaans equivalent of the postmodern cowboys-and-Indians tales of Cormac McCarthy.’
Rian Malan, author of My Traitor’s Heart

’Extremely wild, dramatic, original, dangerous and riveting. It is a literary experience that I will not forget.’
Sissi Reads

of 580

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.