Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Bookfair - PRHC "Blue" Adult Titles

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780771049316 9780771096952 Downloadable audio file 9780771049286 Electronic book text, EPUB 9780771049293 Downloadable audio file, $24.95 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Apr 13, 2021 Carton Quantity:24 $24.95 CAD
  • Catalogues

Victoria Sees It
By (author): Carrie Jenkins
9780771049279 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Psychological Apr 13, 2021
$24.95 CAD
Active 5.67 x 8.25 x 0.79 in | 0.69 lb 288 pages McClelland & Stewart Strange Light
A queer psychological thriller from a beguiling, fresh new voice.

Victoria is unraveling. Her best friend is missing, and she’s the only one who seems to care: there are clues all over Cambridge, but Deb is nowhere to be found—and the harder Victoria looks, the less she sees.


Victoria is raised in a crumbling house in England by her working-class aunt and uncle, until her academic brilliance gains her entrance to Cambridge. There, she meets her first true friend, Deb, a spacey aristocrat, and the girls create their own tiny bubble within Cambridge’s strict class system. Until Deb disappears.

In her search for her friend, Victoria finds an unlikely ally—a police officer named Julie. They travel the countryside, visiting sites of suicides, murders, and accidents. But eventually, Julie’s emotional demands overwhelm Victoria, and she retreats into a lonely life of academia, always teetering on the edge of emotional collapse.

Wandering through a miasma of sexism, isolation, physical and mental health issues, Victoria’s story is haunted by the spectre of her mother, whose own assault and subsequent pregnancy represent a break in her contract with the world.

AUDIENCE: For readers of Sylvia Plath, Carmen Maria Machado and Iain Reid, interested in themes of Queer romance, Mental health, Philosophy, True Crime and Female friendship

TOPICAL DISCUSSIONS OF FEMINISM IN ACADEMIA: Along with post-partum mental health and women’s mental health

STRONG SENSE OF PLACE AND WORLD-BUILDING: Old British campus feel; exploration of quirks and traditions of British academia; town vs. gown dynamics; exploration of class and wealth structures and their impact on British academia

CREATIVE ENGAGEMENT WITH GENRE IS APPEALING TO READERS RIGHT NOW: Plays with form—bildungsroman, detective novel, philosophical novel, first-person confessional fiction

CARRIE JENKINS is an award-winning philosopher and writer. She is Canada Research Chair in Philosophy at the University of British Columbia and holds a PhD from Trinity College, Cambridge, and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of British Columbia. She is the author of What Love Is and What It Could Be and Uninvited: Talking Back to Plato.

Author Residence: Vancouver

“In Victoria Sees It, Carrie Jenkins pursues the idea of women’s madness: its origins, its structures, and, most radically, its insights. When I began reading this beguiling story, I was put in mind of Charlotte Brontë, as the main character is a cross between the odd and serious Jane Eyre and the raving, attic-bound Mrs. Rochester. Jenkins’s voice manages the rare feat of being remarkably intelligent and complex, while being fast paced and engaging. A brilliant thriller about the infinite corridors and wondrous nooks and crannies of women’s minds.” —Heather O’Neill

of 96

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.