has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Mar 09, 2021 On Sale Date: Mar 30, 2021 Carton Quantity: 36 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Mar 09, 2021 On Sale Date: Mar 30, 2021 Carton Quantity: 36 $18.95 USD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Turnaround Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Mar 09, 2021 On Sale Date: Mar 30, 2021 Carton Quantity: 36
  • Catalogues

In Praise of Retreat
Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World
By (author): Kirsteen MacLeod

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770414730

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Flaps
Paperback , Flaps
English

Audience:

General/trade
Mar 30, 2021
$24.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.83 in | 1.04 lb

Page Count:

368 pages

Illustrations:

10 10 photographs, black and whiteHalftones, black and white
ECW Press
BODY, MIND & SPIRIT / Inspiration & Personal Growth
Assertiveness, motivation, self-esteem and positive mental attitude|Mind, body, spirit: thought and practice|Nature therapy|Travel writing
United Kingdom, Great Britain
  • Short Description
Kirsteen MacLeod looks at the history and contemporary ways of retreat, and how we can restore meaning to our lives in an increasingly secular world through deliberate action.

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.

An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent

From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.

In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.

Short Description


Kirsteen MacLeod looks at the history and contemporary ways of retreat, and how we can restore meaning to our lives in an increasingly secular world through deliberate action.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • The author’s experiments in voluntary self-exile have been ongoing for 15 years, and include yoga, meditation, and writing retreats. She outlines specific contemporary ways of retreat, such as hiking the Camino, spending time in nature, and temporary hermitages.

  • MacLeod draws on her personal experiences as well as the wisdom of hermits, scientists, solitary thinkers, independent spirits, writers, and artists to write about how to step back and disconnect from the world, and then reconnect with purpose.

  • While there are many books on the market about how to “unplug” from the modern world, MacLeod takes a broadspectrum approach that other texts do not. She keeps her research outside of a religious framework and focuses on many different ways of using solitude, and the magic, enrichment and transformation that result when we retreat and take time to connect with ourselves and nature.

  • This book explains how to use retreat to meaningfully reconnect


Audience



  • For readers of disconnecting type books such as The End of Absence by Michael Harris, Unplug by Suze Yalof Schwartz and The Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russel

  • For readers of Places in Between by Rory Stewart

  • Women 30-50 interested in yoga, non-religious spirituality and self-care

Kirsteen MacLeod is a writer and yoga teacher. Her debut collection of short stories, The Animal Game, was published in 2016. Her fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction have appeared in prominent literary journals, including The New Quarterly and The Malahat Review; scores of her articles have been featured in leading Canadian magazines; and her work has been a finalist for the CBC Literary Award in creative non-fiction, among other awards. She divides her time between Kingston, Ontario, and a riverside cabin in the woods near Bancroft.

“Anyone looking for a respite from everyday busyness or struggling through quarantine will be inspired by MacLeod’s fresh perspective on the benefits of solitude.” — Publishers Weekly

“Narrated with a touch of warmth that is balanced with the detachment that comes from self-awareness and solitude, the book’s pace is smooth, and its diction is beautiful … In Praise of Retreat issues a deep, thoughtful, and experienced invitation to one’s mind, body, and spirit.” — Foreword Reviews

“MacLeod’s writing is clear, and her love for quiet, green spaces shines through in lyrical passages about life at her cabin. Her curiosity and passion make for engaging reading throughout the historical sections of each chapter … It’s a book worth reading, one that would make a solid addition to a cottage bookshelf, to be pulled down and riffled through by lamplight on quiet summer nights.” — Quill & Quire

“At first glance a peaceful read that might yet be useful in helping us make the most of this unexpected alone time.” — Toronto Star

In Praise of Retreat — part memoir, part nature essay, part guidebook — is thoughtful, thoroughly researched and often refreshingly wry.” — Shelf Awareness

of 27

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.